Skip to main content
Improved grammar.
Source Link

I have an SD card which havethat has been used in a photo camera for some months, and it's been working perfectly fine until today. It failed when we were just browsing pictures in the camera screen (so it wasn't during a file write, it was just reading photos). One of the times we switched to the next photo, it didn't show up, showing an invalid card error message instead. I then tried it in a different camera, and got a similar error message.

So I tried to read it in a Windows PC, and since it couldn't recognize the card either, it offered to format the card. I of course declined this and tried GetDataBack for FAT, which couldn't recover anything at all and returned tons of read errors.

Then I tried ZAR (Zero Assumption Recovery), a recovery tool available here: http://www.z-a-recovery.com/download.htm

It took a very long time and then it just marked ALL sectors in my card as "bad sectors" (in a grid that represents the SD card sectors, all of them were red), without recovering anything.

I find it quite surprising that a perfectly good SD card can go from 100% good to 100% bad. I can understand some sectors eventually going bad but, all of them at once? The card wasn't mistreated or shocked, so I can't see how this could happen.

So, any chance I can recover the pictures in that SD card? I'm guessing not, but who knows.

I have an SD card which have been used in a photo camera for some months, and it's been working perfectly fine until today. It failed when we were just browsing pictures in the camera screen (so it wasn't during a file write, it was just reading photos). One of the times we switched to the next photo, it didn't show up, showing an invalid card error message instead. I then tried it in a different camera, and got a similar error message.

So I tried to read it in a Windows PC, and since it couldn't recognize the card either, it offered to format the card. I of course declined this and tried GetDataBack for FAT, which couldn't recover anything at all and returned tons of read errors.

Then I tried ZAR (Zero Assumption Recovery), a recovery tool available here: http://www.z-a-recovery.com/download.htm

It took a very long time and then it just marked ALL sectors in my card as "bad sectors" (in a grid that represents the SD card sectors, all of them were red), without recovering anything.

I find it quite surprising that a perfectly good SD card can go from 100% good to 100% bad. I can understand some sectors eventually going bad but, all of them at once? The card wasn't mistreated or shocked, so I can't see how this could happen.

So, any chance I can recover the pictures in that SD card? I'm guessing not, but who knows.

I have an SD card that has been used in a photo camera for some months, and it's been working perfectly fine until today. It failed when we were just browsing pictures in the camera screen (so it wasn't during a file write, it was just reading photos). One of the times we switched to the next photo, it didn't show up, showing an invalid card error message instead. I then tried it in a different camera, and got a similar error message.

So I tried to read it in a Windows PC, and since it couldn't recognize the card either, it offered to format the card. I of course declined this and tried GetDataBack for FAT, which couldn't recover anything at all and returned tons of read errors.

Then I tried ZAR (Zero Assumption Recovery), a recovery tool available here: http://www.z-a-recovery.com/download.htm

It took a very long time and then it just marked ALL sectors in my card as "bad sectors" (in a grid that represents the SD card sectors, all of them were red), without recovering anything.

I find it quite surprising that a perfectly good SD card can go from 100% good to 100% bad. I can understand some sectors eventually going bad but, all of them at once? The card wasn't mistreated or shocked, so I can't see how this could happen.

So, any chance I can recover the pictures in that SD card? I'm guessing not, but who knows.

edited tags
Link
OMA
  • 1.7k
  • 4
  • 19
  • 25
It's a demo version with restrictions, not free
Source Link
Karan
  • 56.6k
  • 20
  • 120
  • 194
Loading
Source Link
OMA
  • 1.7k
  • 4
  • 19
  • 25
Loading