Skip to main content
deleted 6 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
slhck
  • 230.2k
  • 71
  • 621
  • 603

RIAD Can RAID 1 have more then 2than two drives?

recently I've gotRecently I had a discusiondiscussion with a teacher of mine. He was claiming that you can do raid-1could set up RAID 1 with 5five drives. And and that the data waswould be mirrored over all 5of these drives.

I told him, raid-1 a RAID 1 with 5 drives does notwouldn't work like that. It wil dowould be a raid-1RAID 1 with 2two drives and would use the other 3three drives as hot spare.

I dought his answer becouse he wasHe also sayingsaid that raid-6RAID 6 is identical to raid-5RAID 5 but you can place all the parity checks on the same drive. I thought raid-6RAID 6 was an raid5a RAID 5-like solution where 2two drives where used for parity.

Who's right. :p

Thanks, then?

RIAD 1 more then 2 drives

recently I've got a discusion with a teacher of mine. He was claiming that you can do raid-1 with 5 drives. And that the data was mirrored over all 5 drives.

I told him, raid-1 with 5 drives does not work like that. It wil do a raid-1 with 2 drives and use the other 3 drives as hot spare.

I dought his answer becouse he was also saying that raid-6 is identical to raid-5 but you can place all the parity checks on the same drive. I thought raid-6 was an raid5-like solution where 2 drives where used for parity.

Who's right. :p

Thanks

Can RAID 1 have more than two drives?

Recently I had a discussion with a teacher of mine. He was claiming that you could set up RAID 1 with five drives and that the data would be mirrored over all of these drives.

I told him a RAID 1 with 5 drives wouldn't work like that. It would be a RAID 1 with two drives and would use the other three drives as hot spare.

He also said that RAID 6 is identical to RAID 5 but you can place all the parity checks on the same drive. I thought RAID 6 was a RAID 5-like solution where two drives where used for parity.

Who's right, then?

Source Link
Mad_piggy
  • 141
  • 1
  • 2
  • 4

RIAD 1 more then 2 drives

recently I've got a discusion with a teacher of mine. He was claiming that you can do raid-1 with 5 drives. And that the data was mirrored over all 5 drives.

I told him, raid-1 with 5 drives does not work like that. It wil do a raid-1 with 2 drives and use the other 3 drives as hot spare.

I dought his answer becouse he was also saying that raid-6 is identical to raid-5 but you can place all the parity checks on the same drive. I thought raid-6 was an raid5-like solution where 2 drives where used for parity.

Who's right. :p

Thanks