Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
added 763 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link
Rodnower
  • 2.2k
  • 6
  • 33
  • 47

I have Ubuntu 12.04.1.
Last time I did nothing especial, but suddenly some problem appear:
I have a login screen (using lightdm), when I attempt a login, I get a console session and returned to the login screen. I have same problem isif I try guest session"Guest session".
I see that it is a known issue, so I tried everything from following steps:
I succeed to to login with my account in console mode (ctrl+alt+f1)
I checked, and I don't have problem with disk space
I removed .XAuthority
I configured to use gdm
I reinstalled lightdm
I included my user to nopasswdlogin group
But nothing help...

So, these are errors from /var/log/auth.log in this step:

Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_unix(lightdm:session): session opened for user lightdm by (uid=0)
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_ck_connector(lightdm:session): nox11 mode, ignoring PAM_TTY :0
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_succeed_if(lightdm:auth): requirement "user ingroup nopasswdlogin" not met by user "andrey"
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 dbus[704]: [system] Rejected send message, 2 matched rules; type="method_call", sender=":1.35" (uid=104 pid=1709 comm="/usr/lib/indicator-datetime/indicator-datetime-ser") interface="org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties" member="GetAll" error name="(unset)" requested_reply="0" destination=":1.14" (uid=0 pid=1169 comm="/usr/sbin/console-kit-daemon --no-daemon ")

After I reconfigure lightdm new .Xauthority file appear with root as owner, I put my user as owner and gave 777 permissions. The result is: when I try login, lightdm hangs on login process, it just stop and don't do nothing, I even can't press on screen buttons or change password, it just hangs up.

GDM also hangs up.

And these are errors after I get permissions for .Xauthority:

Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_unix(lightdm:session): session opened for user lightdm by (uid=0)
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_ck_connector(lightdm:session): nox11 mode, ignoring PAM_TTY :0
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_succeed_if(lightdm:auth): requirement "user ingroup nopasswdlogin" not met by user "andrey"

Any ideas?

I have Ubuntu 12.04.1.
Last time I did nothing especial, but suddenly some problem appear:
I have a login screen (using lightdm), when I attempt a login, I get a console session and returned to the login screen. I have same problem is I try guest session.
I see that it is a known issue, so I tried everything from following steps:
I succeed to to login with my account in console mode (ctrl+alt+f1)
I checked, and I don't have problem with disk space
I removed .XAuthority
I configured to use gdm
I reinstalled lightdm
I included my user to nopasswdlogin group
But nothing help...

So, these are errors from /var/log/auth.log:

Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_unix(lightdm:session): session opened for user lightdm by (uid=0)
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_ck_connector(lightdm:session): nox11 mode, ignoring PAM_TTY :0
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_succeed_if(lightdm:auth): requirement "user ingroup nopasswdlogin" not met by user "andrey"
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 dbus[704]: [system] Rejected send message, 2 matched rules; type="method_call", sender=":1.35" (uid=104 pid=1709 comm="/usr/lib/indicator-datetime/indicator-datetime-ser") interface="org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties" member="GetAll" error name="(unset)" requested_reply="0" destination=":1.14" (uid=0 pid=1169 comm="/usr/sbin/console-kit-daemon --no-daemon ")

Any ideas?

I have Ubuntu 12.04.1.
Last time I did nothing especial, but suddenly some problem appear:
I have a login screen (using lightdm), when I attempt a login, I get a console session and returned to the login screen. I have same problem if I try "Guest session".
I see that it is a known issue, so I tried everything from following steps:
I succeed to to login with my account in console mode (ctrl+alt+f1)
I checked, and I don't have problem with disk space
I removed .XAuthority
I configured to use gdm
I reinstalled lightdm
I included my user to nopasswdlogin group
But nothing help...

So, these are errors from /var/log/auth.log in this step:

Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_unix(lightdm:session): session opened for user lightdm by (uid=0)
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_ck_connector(lightdm:session): nox11 mode, ignoring PAM_TTY :0
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_succeed_if(lightdm:auth): requirement "user ingroup nopasswdlogin" not met by user "andrey"
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 dbus[704]: [system] Rejected send message, 2 matched rules; type="method_call", sender=":1.35" (uid=104 pid=1709 comm="/usr/lib/indicator-datetime/indicator-datetime-ser") interface="org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties" member="GetAll" error name="(unset)" requested_reply="0" destination=":1.14" (uid=0 pid=1169 comm="/usr/sbin/console-kit-daemon --no-daemon ")

After I reconfigure lightdm new .Xauthority file appear with root as owner, I put my user as owner and gave 777 permissions. The result is: when I try login, lightdm hangs on login process, it just stop and don't do nothing, I even can't press on screen buttons or change password, it just hangs up.

GDM also hangs up.

And these are errors after I get permissions for .Xauthority:

Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_unix(lightdm:session): session opened for user lightdm by (uid=0)
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_ck_connector(lightdm:session): nox11 mode, ignoring PAM_TTY :0
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_succeed_if(lightdm:auth): requirement "user ingroup nopasswdlogin" not met by user "andrey"

Any ideas?

added 132 characters in body
Source Link
Rodnower
  • 2.2k
  • 6
  • 33
  • 47

I have Ubuntu 12.04.1.
Last time I did nothing especial, but suddenly some problem appear:
I have a login screen (using lightdm), when I attempt a login, I get a console session and returned to the login screen. I have same problem is I try guest session.
I see that it is a known issue, so I tried everything from following steps:
ToI succeed to to login with my account in console mode (ctrl+alt+f1)
I checked, and I don't have problem with disk space
I removed .XAuthority
ConfigureI configured to use gdm
ReinstallI reinstalled lightdm
To includeI included my user to nopasswdlogin group
But nothing help...

So, these are errors from /var/log/auth.log:

Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_unix(lightdm:session): session opened for user lightdm by (uid=0)
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_ck_connector(lightdm:session): nox11 mode, ignoring PAM_TTY :0
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_succeed_if(lightdm:auth): requirement "user ingroup nopasswdlogin" not met by user "andrey"
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 dbus[704]: [system] Rejected send message, 2 matched rules; type="method_call", sender=":1.35" (uid=104 pid=1709 comm="/usr/lib/indicator-datetime/indicator-datetime-ser") interface="org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties" member="GetAll" error name="(unset)" requested_reply="0" destination=":1.14" (uid=0 pid=1169 comm="/usr/sbin/console-kit-daemon --no-daemon ")

Any ideas?

I have Ubuntu 12.04.1.
Last time I did nothing especial, but suddenly some problem appear:
I have a login screen (using lightdm), when I attempt a login, I get a console session and returned to the login screen. I see that it is a known issue, so I tried everything from following steps:
To removed .XAuthority
Configure to use gdm
Reinstall lightdm
To include my user to nopasswdlogin group
But nothing help...

So, these are errors from /var/log/auth.log:

Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_unix(lightdm:session): session opened for user lightdm by (uid=0)
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_ck_connector(lightdm:session): nox11 mode, ignoring PAM_TTY :0
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_succeed_if(lightdm:auth): requirement "user ingroup nopasswdlogin" not met by user "andrey"
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 dbus[704]: [system] Rejected send message, 2 matched rules; type="method_call", sender=":1.35" (uid=104 pid=1709 comm="/usr/lib/indicator-datetime/indicator-datetime-ser") interface="org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties" member="GetAll" error name="(unset)" requested_reply="0" destination=":1.14" (uid=0 pid=1169 comm="/usr/sbin/console-kit-daemon --no-daemon ")

Any ideas?

I have Ubuntu 12.04.1.
Last time I did nothing especial, but suddenly some problem appear:
I have a login screen (using lightdm), when I attempt a login, I get a console session and returned to the login screen. I have same problem is I try guest session.
I see that it is a known issue, so I tried everything from following steps:
I succeed to to login with my account in console mode (ctrl+alt+f1)
I checked, and I don't have problem with disk space
I removed .XAuthority
I configured to use gdm
I reinstalled lightdm
I included my user to nopasswdlogin group
But nothing help...

So, these are errors from /var/log/auth.log:

Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_unix(lightdm:session): session opened for user lightdm by (uid=0)
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_ck_connector(lightdm:session): nox11 mode, ignoring PAM_TTY :0
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_succeed_if(lightdm:auth): requirement "user ingroup nopasswdlogin" not met by user "andrey"
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 dbus[704]: [system] Rejected send message, 2 matched rules; type="method_call", sender=":1.35" (uid=104 pid=1709 comm="/usr/lib/indicator-datetime/indicator-datetime-ser") interface="org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties" member="GetAll" error name="(unset)" requested_reply="0" destination=":1.14" (uid=0 pid=1169 comm="/usr/sbin/console-kit-daemon --no-daemon ")

Any ideas?

Don't succeed login Unable to log into Ubuntu

I have Ubuntu 12.04.1.
Last time I did nothing especial, but suddenly some problem appear:
I have a login screen (ofusing lightdm), try perform thewhen I attempt a login, have black screen with some text, and get back login screen. If I try guest session I get a console session and returned to the samelogin screen.
  I see that it is a known issue, so I tried everything from following steps:
To removed .XAuthority
Configure to use gdm
Reinstall lightdm
To include my user to nopasswdlogin group
But nothing help...

So, these are errors from /var/log/auth.log:

Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_unix(lightdm:session): session opened for user lightdm by (uid=0)
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_ck_connector(lightdm:session): nox11 mode, ignoring PAM_TTY :0
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_succeed_if(lightdm:auth): requirement "user ingroup nopasswdlogin" not met by user "andrey"
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 dbus[704]: [system] Rejected send message, 2 matched rules; type="method_call", sender=":1.35" (uid=104 pid=1709 comm="/usr/lib/indicator-datetime/indicator-datetime-ser") interface="org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties" member="GetAll" error name="(unset)" requested_reply="0" destination=":1.14" (uid=0 pid=1169 comm="/usr/sbin/console-kit-daemon --no-daemon ")

Any ideas?

Don't succeed login to Ubuntu

I have Ubuntu 12.04.1.
Last time I did nothing especial, but suddenly some problem appear:
I have login screen (of lightdm), try perform the login, have black screen with some text, and get back login screen. If I try guest session I get the same.
  I see that it is a known issue, so I tried everything from following steps:
To removed .XAuthority
Configure to use gdm
Reinstall lightdm
To include my user to nopasswdlogin group
But nothing help...

So, these are errors from /var/log/auth.log:

Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_unix(lightdm:session): session opened for user lightdm by (uid=0)
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_ck_connector(lightdm:session): nox11 mode, ignoring PAM_TTY :0
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_succeed_if(lightdm:auth): requirement "user ingroup nopasswdlogin" not met by user "andrey"
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 dbus[704]: [system] Rejected send message, 2 matched rules; type="method_call", sender=":1.35" (uid=104 pid=1709 comm="/usr/lib/indicator-datetime/indicator-datetime-ser") interface="org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties" member="GetAll" error name="(unset)" requested_reply="0" destination=":1.14" (uid=0 pid=1169 comm="/usr/sbin/console-kit-daemon --no-daemon ")

Any ideas?

Unable to log into Ubuntu

I have Ubuntu 12.04.1.
Last time I did nothing especial, but suddenly some problem appear:
I have a login screen (using lightdm), when I attempt a login, I get a console session and returned to the login screen. I see that it is a known issue, so I tried everything from following steps:
To removed .XAuthority
Configure to use gdm
Reinstall lightdm
To include my user to nopasswdlogin group
But nothing help...

So, these are errors from /var/log/auth.log:

Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_unix(lightdm:session): session opened for user lightdm by (uid=0)
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_ck_connector(lightdm:session): nox11 mode, ignoring PAM_TTY :0
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 lightdm: pam_succeed_if(lightdm:auth): requirement "user ingroup nopasswdlogin" not met by user "andrey"
Oct  3 01:11:48 alphabet-2 dbus[704]: [system] Rejected send message, 2 matched rules; type="method_call", sender=":1.35" (uid=104 pid=1709 comm="/usr/lib/indicator-datetime/indicator-datetime-ser") interface="org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties" member="GetAll" error name="(unset)" requested_reply="0" destination=":1.14" (uid=0 pid=1169 comm="/usr/sbin/console-kit-daemon --no-daemon ")

Any ideas?

Source Link
Rodnower
  • 2.2k
  • 6
  • 33
  • 47
Loading