Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Editted the title, corrected the grammar, and rephrased a few things. Also formatted it to make it more readable.
Source Link
Oliver Salzburg
  • 88k
  • 64
  • 266
  • 308

I have a 2TB external hard drive that was pre formatted as one giant NTFS partition. I used windows 7 disk utility to partition it into two 1TB partitions and then formatted as FAT.

The formatting was over in a matter of seconds only. Then I copied several gigabytes of data from Mac OSX to my hard drive, and now Windows doesn't see that partition. In Mac it is shown as ExFAT.

Is there a way to fix this issue without losing my data? What is the problem here essentially?

Thanks!

I have a 2TB external hard drive that was pre formatted as one giant NTFS partition. I used windows 7 disk utility to partition it into two 1TB partitions and then formatted as FAT.

The formatting was over in a matter of seconds only. Then I copied several gigabytes of data from Mac OSX to my hard drive, and now Windows doesn't see that partition. In Mac it is shown as ExFAT.

Is there a way to fix this issue without losing my data? What is the problem here essentially?

Thanks!

I have a 2TB external hard drive that was pre formatted as one giant NTFS partition. I used windows 7 disk utility to partition it into two 1TB partitions and then formatted as FAT.

The formatting was over in a matter of seconds only. Then I copied several gigabytes of data from Mac OSX to my hard drive, and now Windows doesn't see that partition. In Mac it is shown as ExFAT.

Is there a way to fix this issue without losing my data? What is the problem here essentially?

Editted the title, corrected the grammar, and rephrased a few things. Also formatted it to make it more readable.
Source Link

Wincows Windows can't see the external exFatexFAT partition, MacOX but Mac OSX Can

I have a 2TB external hard drive that was preformattedpre formatted as one giant NTFSNTFS partition. I used windows 7 disk utility to partition it to 2into two 1TB partitions and then formatted as FatFAT. 

The formatting wentwas over in a matter of seconds only. Then I copied several gigabytes of Datadata from MacOSXMac OSX to my hard drive, and now windowsWindows doesn't see that partition. In macMac it is shown as ExFatExFAT. 

Is there a way to fix this issue without having losing my data? What is the problem here essentially? thanks

Thanks!

Wincows can't see external exFat partition, MacOX Can

I have a 2TB external hard drive that was preformatted as one giant NTFS partition. I used windows 7 disk utility to partition it to 2 1TB partitions and then formatted as Fat. The formatting went in a matter of seconds only. Then I copied several gigabytes of Data from MacOSX to my hard drive, and now windows doesn't see that partition. In mac it is shown as ExFat. Is there a way to fix this issue without having losing my data? What is the problem here essentially? thanks!

Windows can't see the external exFAT partition but Mac OSX Can

I have a 2TB external hard drive that was pre formatted as one giant NTFS partition. I used windows 7 disk utility to partition it into two 1TB partitions and then formatted as FAT. 

The formatting was over in a matter of seconds only. Then I copied several gigabytes of data from Mac OSX to my hard drive, and now Windows doesn't see that partition. In Mac it is shown as ExFAT. 

Is there a way to fix this issue without losing my data? What is the problem here essentially?

Thanks!

Source Link
simon
  • 21
  • 3

Wincows can't see external exFat partition, MacOX Can

I have a 2TB external hard drive that was preformatted as one giant NTFS partition. I used windows 7 disk utility to partition it to 2 1TB partitions and then formatted as Fat. The formatting went in a matter of seconds only. Then I copied several gigabytes of Data from MacOSX to my hard drive, and now windows doesn't see that partition. In mac it is shown as ExFat. Is there a way to fix this issue without having losing my data? What is the problem here essentially? thanks!