Skip to main content
replaced redundant, ambiguous tag
Link
fixer1234
  • 27.6k
  • 61
  • 78
  • 123
replaced manufacturer meta tag, minor cleanup
Source Link
fixer1234
  • 27.6k
  • 61
  • 78
  • 123

Standard toolchain / tasks to repair a windowsWindows 7 machine

A friend owns a Lenovo notebook.

The system sometime does not boot Windows 7. If this happens, a black screen with a lifebelt boots. I've never seen such a lifebelt screen on another system (Windows support isn't my daytime job).

After several hours, the system finally manages to boot Windows 7. After a few days of normal work, the notebook shows the lifebelt again. This screen comes from Lenovo's Recue and Recovery solution.

I'd like to know, which standard tools exist to

  • repair the system
  • or identify the problem reason

exist.

While this is probably a broad question, I'd be too happy to even receive 'simple' hints.

But maybe there exists an application, which contains a good set of tools to assist. Does such a app exist?

A Windows DVD/CD isn't available, since the notebook comes with a recovery partition. Thus, the only option seems to completely reset to shipped system state.

In this case, I assume that no option exists, which allows to save and later recover the state of application programs - after the complete reset. Am I right?

Standard toolchain / tasks to repair a windows 7 machine

A friend owns a Lenovo notebook.

The system sometime does not boot Windows 7. If this happens, a black screen with a lifebelt boots. I've never seen such a lifebelt screen on another system (Windows support isn't my daytime job).

After several hours, the system finally manages to boot Windows 7. After a few days of normal work, the notebook shows the lifebelt again. This screen comes from Lenovo's Recue and Recovery solution.

I'd like to know, which standard tools to

  • repair the system
  • or identify the problem reason

exist.

While this is probably a broad question, I'd be too happy to even receive 'simple' hints.

But maybe there exists an application, which contains a good set of tools to assist. Does such a app exist?

A Windows DVD/CD isn't available, since the notebook comes with a recovery partition. Thus, the only option seems to completely reset to shipped system state.

In this case, I assume that no option exists, which allows to save and later recover the state of application programs - after the complete reset. Am I right?

Standard toolchain / tasks to repair a Windows 7 machine

A friend owns a Lenovo notebook.

The system sometime does not boot Windows 7. If this happens, a black screen with a lifebelt boots. I've never seen such a lifebelt screen on another system (Windows support isn't my daytime job).

After several hours, the system finally manages to boot Windows 7. After a few days of normal work, the notebook shows the lifebelt again. This screen comes from Lenovo's Recue and Recovery solution.

I'd like to know, which standard tools exist to

  • repair the system
  • or identify the problem reason

While this is probably a broad question, I'd be too happy to even receive 'simple' hints.

But maybe there exists an application, which contains a good set of tools to assist. Does such a app exist?

A Windows DVD/CD isn't available, since the notebook comes with a recovery partition. Thus, the only option seems to completely reset to shipped system state.

In this case, I assume that no option exists, which allows to save and later recover the state of application programs - after the complete reset. Am I right?

added 146 characters in body
Source Link
SteAp
  • 113
  • 6

A friend owns a Lenovo notebook.

The system sometime does not boot Windows 7. If this happens, a black screen with a lifebelt boots. I've never seen such a lifebelt screen on another system (Windows support isn't my daytime job).

After several hours, the system finally manages to boot Windows 7. After a few days of normal work, the notebook shows the lifebelt again. This screen comes from Lenovo's Recue and Recovery solution.

I'd like to know, which standard tools to

  • repair the system
  • or identify the problem reason

exist.

While this is probably a broad question, I'd be too happy to even receive 'simple' hints.

But maybe there exists an application, which contains a good set of tools to assist. Does such a app exist?

A Windows DVD/CD isn't available, since the notebook comes with a recovery partition. Thus, the only option seems to completely reset to shipped system state.

In this case, I assume that no option exists, which allows to save and later recover the state of application programs - after the complete reset. Am I right?

A friend owns a Lenovo notebook.

The system sometime does not boot Windows 7. If this happens, a black screen with a lifebelt boots. I've never seen such a lifebelt screen on another system (Windows support isn't my daytime job).

After several hours, the system finally manages to boot Windows 7. After a few days of normal work, the notebook shows the lifebelt again.

I'd like to know, which standard tools to

  • repair the system
  • or identify the problem reason

exist.

While this is probably a broad question, I'd be too happy to even receive 'simple' hints.

But maybe there exists an application, which contains a good set of tools to assist. Does such a app exist?

A Windows DVD/CD isn't available, since the notebook comes with a recovery partition. Thus, the only option seems to completely reset to shipped system state.

In this case, I assume that no option exists, which allows to save and later recover the state of application programs - after the complete reset. Am I right?

A friend owns a Lenovo notebook.

The system sometime does not boot Windows 7. If this happens, a black screen with a lifebelt boots. I've never seen such a lifebelt screen on another system (Windows support isn't my daytime job).

After several hours, the system finally manages to boot Windows 7. After a few days of normal work, the notebook shows the lifebelt again. This screen comes from Lenovo's Recue and Recovery solution.

I'd like to know, which standard tools to

  • repair the system
  • or identify the problem reason

exist.

While this is probably a broad question, I'd be too happy to even receive 'simple' hints.

But maybe there exists an application, which contains a good set of tools to assist. Does such a app exist?

A Windows DVD/CD isn't available, since the notebook comes with a recovery partition. Thus, the only option seems to completely reset to shipped system state.

In this case, I assume that no option exists, which allows to save and later recover the state of application programs - after the complete reset. Am I right?

Post Migrated Here from serverfault.com (revisions)
Source Link
SteAp
  • 113
  • 6
Loading