Skip to main content
added 529 characters in body
Source Link
pnongrata
  • 2.9k
  • 18
  • 54
  • 83

I have been trying all morning to find the right Ubuntu Server (12.04) ISO to use for installing an Ubuntu guest OS on my VBox VM.

Here are the relevant stats:

  • Host Machine: AMD 64-bit
  • Host OS: Ubuntu Desktop 11.04
  • VM OS: Linux
  • VM OS Version: Ubuntu
  • ISO downloaded and attempted: ubuntu-12.04-server-amd64.iso

When I try to start the VM I get a main menu, the first option reads Install Ubuntu. When I select that, I get an error message:

This kernel requires an x86-64 CPU, but only detected an i686 CPU. Unable to boot - please use a kernel appropriate for your CPU.

Edit: That message makes me think that I have a 32-bit machine but am trying to run a 64-bit ISO. I am confident that this is 64-bit, however, as uname -m produces x86-64 in the terminal...and executing lscpu produces:

Architecture:          x86_64
CPU op-mode(s):        32-bit, 64-bit
CPU(s):                2
Thread(s) per core:    1
Core(s) per socket:    2
CPU socket(s):         1
NUMA node(s):          1
Vendor ID:             GenuineIntel
CPU family:            6
Model:                 23
Stepping:              10
CPU MHz:               1200.000
L1d cache:             32K
L1i cache:             32K
L2 cache:              1024K

Here's the kicker: I downloaded the ISO on a Windows machine, because my Ubuntu machine (the one running Ubuntu Desktop 11.04 and hosting the VM-to-be) has crummy network connection. So I downloaded to a Windows client, put the ISO on a flash drive, copied it over to my Ubuntu machine, and saved it locally. I'm wondering if the download page saw that I was trying to download from a Windows client and swapped out the x86-64 version for i686? Otherwise I downloaded the wrong ISO.

Can someone please tell me what the right ISO is? I thought for sure the AMD 64-bit version would be exactly what I needed.

I have been trying all morning to find the right Ubuntu Server (12.04) ISO to use for installing an Ubuntu guest OS on my VBox VM.

Here are the relevant stats:

  • Host Machine: AMD 64-bit
  • Host OS: Ubuntu Desktop 11.04
  • VM OS: Linux
  • VM OS Version: Ubuntu
  • ISO downloaded and attempted: ubuntu-12.04-server-amd64.iso

When I try to start the VM I get a main menu, the first option reads Install Ubuntu. When I select that, I get an error message:

This kernel requires an x86-64 CPU, but only detected an i686 CPU. Unable to boot - please use a kernel appropriate for your CPU.

Edit: That message makes me think that I have a 32-bit machine but am trying to run a 64-bit ISO. I am confident that this is 64-bit, however, as uname -m produces x86-64 in the terminal...

Here's the kicker: I downloaded the ISO on a Windows machine, because my Ubuntu machine (the one running Ubuntu Desktop 11.04 and hosting the VM-to-be) has crummy network connection. So I downloaded to a Windows client, put the ISO on a flash drive, copied it over to my Ubuntu machine, and saved it locally. I'm wondering if the download page saw that I was trying to download from a Windows client and swapped out the x86-64 version for i686? Otherwise I downloaded the wrong ISO.

Can someone please tell me what the right ISO is? I thought for sure the AMD 64-bit version would be exactly what I needed.

I have been trying all morning to find the right Ubuntu Server (12.04) ISO to use for installing an Ubuntu guest OS on my VBox VM.

Here are the relevant stats:

  • Host Machine: AMD 64-bit
  • Host OS: Ubuntu Desktop 11.04
  • VM OS: Linux
  • VM OS Version: Ubuntu
  • ISO downloaded and attempted: ubuntu-12.04-server-amd64.iso

When I try to start the VM I get a main menu, the first option reads Install Ubuntu. When I select that, I get an error message:

This kernel requires an x86-64 CPU, but only detected an i686 CPU. Unable to boot - please use a kernel appropriate for your CPU.

Edit: That message makes me think that I have a 32-bit machine but am trying to run a 64-bit ISO. I am confident that this is 64-bit, however, as uname -m produces x86-64 in the terminal...and executing lscpu produces:

Architecture:          x86_64
CPU op-mode(s):        32-bit, 64-bit
CPU(s):                2
Thread(s) per core:    1
Core(s) per socket:    2
CPU socket(s):         1
NUMA node(s):          1
Vendor ID:             GenuineIntel
CPU family:            6
Model:                 23
Stepping:              10
CPU MHz:               1200.000
L1d cache:             32K
L1i cache:             32K
L2 cache:              1024K

Here's the kicker: I downloaded the ISO on a Windows machine, because my Ubuntu machine (the one running Ubuntu Desktop 11.04 and hosting the VM-to-be) has crummy network connection. So I downloaded to a Windows client, put the ISO on a flash drive, copied it over to my Ubuntu machine, and saved it locally. I'm wondering if the download page saw that I was trying to download from a Windows client and swapped out the x86-64 version for i686? Otherwise I downloaded the wrong ISO.

Can someone please tell me what the right ISO is? I thought for sure the AMD 64-bit version would be exactly what I needed.

added 199 characters in body
Source Link
pnongrata
  • 2.9k
  • 18
  • 54
  • 83

I have been trying all morning to find the right Ubuntu Server (12.04) ISO to use for installing an Ubuntu guest OS on my VBox VM.

Here are the relevant stats:

  • Host Machine: AMD 64-bit
  • Host OS: Ubuntu Desktop 11.04
  • VM OS: Linux
  • VM OS Version: Ubuntu
  • ISO downloaded and attempted: ubuntu-12.04-server-amd64.iso

When I try to start the VM I get a main menu, the first option reads InstalInstall Ubuntu. When I select that, I get an error message:

This kernel requires an x86-64 CPU, but only detected an i686 CPU. Unable to boot - please use a kernel appropriate for your CPU.

Edit: That message makes me think that I have a 32-bit machine but am trying to run a 64-bit ISO. I am confident that this is 64-bit, however, as uname -m produces x86-64 in the terminal...

Here's the kicker: I downloaded the ISO on a Windows machine, because my Ubuntu machine (the one running Ubuntu Desktop 11.04 and hosting the VM-to-be) has crummy network connection. So I downloaded to a Windows client, put the ISO on a flash drive, copied it over to my Ubuntu machine, and saved it locally. I'm wondering if the download page saw that I was trying to download from a Windows client and swapped out the x86-64 version for i686? Otherwise I downloaded the wrong ISO.

Can someone please tell me what the right ISO is? I thought for sure the AMD 64-bit version would be exactly what I needed.

I have been trying all morning to find the right Ubuntu Server (12.04) ISO to use for installing an Ubuntu guest OS on my VBox VM.

Here are the relevant stats:

  • Host Machine: AMD 64-bit
  • Host OS: Ubuntu Desktop 11.04
  • VM OS: Linux
  • VM OS Version: Ubuntu
  • ISO downloaded and attempted: ubuntu-12.04-server-amd64.iso

When I try to start the VM I get a main menu, the first option reads Instal Ubuntu. When I select that, I get an error message:

This kernel requires an x86-64 CPU, but only detected an i686 CPU. Unable to boot - please use a kernel appropriate for your CPU.

Here's the kicker: I downloaded the ISO on a Windows machine, because my Ubuntu machine (the one running Ubuntu Desktop 11.04 and hosting the VM-to-be) has crummy network connection. So I downloaded to a Windows client, put the ISO on a flash drive, copied it over to my Ubuntu machine, and saved it locally. I'm wondering if the download page saw that I was trying to download from a Windows client and swapped out the x86-64 version for i686? Otherwise I downloaded the wrong ISO.

Can someone please tell me what the right ISO is? I thought for sure the AMD 64-bit version would be exactly what I needed.

I have been trying all morning to find the right Ubuntu Server (12.04) ISO to use for installing an Ubuntu guest OS on my VBox VM.

Here are the relevant stats:

  • Host Machine: AMD 64-bit
  • Host OS: Ubuntu Desktop 11.04
  • VM OS: Linux
  • VM OS Version: Ubuntu
  • ISO downloaded and attempted: ubuntu-12.04-server-amd64.iso

When I try to start the VM I get a main menu, the first option reads Install Ubuntu. When I select that, I get an error message:

This kernel requires an x86-64 CPU, but only detected an i686 CPU. Unable to boot - please use a kernel appropriate for your CPU.

Edit: That message makes me think that I have a 32-bit machine but am trying to run a 64-bit ISO. I am confident that this is 64-bit, however, as uname -m produces x86-64 in the terminal...

Here's the kicker: I downloaded the ISO on a Windows machine, because my Ubuntu machine (the one running Ubuntu Desktop 11.04 and hosting the VM-to-be) has crummy network connection. So I downloaded to a Windows client, put the ISO on a flash drive, copied it over to my Ubuntu machine, and saved it locally. I'm wondering if the download page saw that I was trying to download from a Windows client and swapped out the x86-64 version for i686? Otherwise I downloaded the wrong ISO.

Can someone please tell me what the right ISO is? I thought for sure the AMD 64-bit version would be exactly what I needed.

Source Link
pnongrata
  • 2.9k
  • 18
  • 54
  • 83

Can't find the right Ubuntu Server ISO for VirtualBox

I have been trying all morning to find the right Ubuntu Server (12.04) ISO to use for installing an Ubuntu guest OS on my VBox VM.

Here are the relevant stats:

  • Host Machine: AMD 64-bit
  • Host OS: Ubuntu Desktop 11.04
  • VM OS: Linux
  • VM OS Version: Ubuntu
  • ISO downloaded and attempted: ubuntu-12.04-server-amd64.iso

When I try to start the VM I get a main menu, the first option reads Instal Ubuntu. When I select that, I get an error message:

This kernel requires an x86-64 CPU, but only detected an i686 CPU. Unable to boot - please use a kernel appropriate for your CPU.

Here's the kicker: I downloaded the ISO on a Windows machine, because my Ubuntu machine (the one running Ubuntu Desktop 11.04 and hosting the VM-to-be) has crummy network connection. So I downloaded to a Windows client, put the ISO on a flash drive, copied it over to my Ubuntu machine, and saved it locally. I'm wondering if the download page saw that I was trying to download from a Windows client and swapped out the x86-64 version for i686? Otherwise I downloaded the wrong ISO.

Can someone please tell me what the right ISO is? I thought for sure the AMD 64-bit version would be exactly what I needed.