Skip to main content
deleted 87 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
Oliver Salzburg
  • 88k
  • 64
  • 266
  • 308

How to solve Windows 7 Explorer is taking 30 seconds to start.exe freeze How can I find out why?

I have a new Core i3 notebook with Windows 7 Home Editon 64-bit. The PC ran fine for several months, but since a week, every time I try to open a folder on Explorer it takes almost 30 secsseconds to open.

So far, II've tried with:

  • checking for virus or spyware with MS Essentials, MalwareBytes and DrWebCureIt (no virus or spyware)

    checking for virus or spyware with MS Essentials, MalwareBytes and DrWebCureIt (no virus or spyware)

  • restoring to a previous System Restore point

    restoring to a previous System Restore Point

  • chkdsk /f (no errors)

    chkdsk /f (no errors)

  • disabling Windows Search (no difference)

    disabling Windows Search (no difference)

  • sfc /scannow on a elevated command prompt (stops with an error: "Windows Resource Protection could not perform the requested operation")

    sfc /scannow on a elevated command prompt. Stops with an error:

    Windows Resource Protection could not perform the requested operation

  • disabling Active Destkop via registry (like here)

    disabling Active Destkop via registry (as explained in How to Disable or Enable Active Desktop in Windows 7)

  • disabling every non-microsoft startup program via AutoRuns

    disabling every non-Microsoft startup program via AutoRuns

  • disabling non-Microsoft shell extensions via ShellExView

    disabling non-Microsoft shell extensions via ShellExView

  • removing USN JOURNAL with fsutil usn deletejournal /D C: because Sysinternals Process Monitor shows a delay of 5+ seconds on SFTLIST.EXE / FileSystemControl

    removing USN JOURNAL with fsutil usn deletejournal /D C: because Sysinternals Process Monitor shows a delay of 5+ seconds on SFTLIST.EXE / FileSystemControl

The freeze is only in EXPLORER.EXEexplorer.exe, I can switch to another processes without any slowdown. There are no CPU spikes in Task Manager or Process Explorer.

I discard hardware errors because if I start in Safe Mode the PC ran fine. I cannot do a repair install because Windows (Home Premium) is preinstalled in the notebook and I have no Windows CD.

What else can I try without having to reinstall Windows?

How to solve Windows 7 Explorer.exe freeze?

I have a new Core i3 notebook with Windows 7 Home Editon 64-bit. The PC ran fine for several months, but since a week every time I try to open a folder on Explorer it takes almost 30 secs to open.

So far, I tried with:

  • checking for virus or spyware with MS Essentials, MalwareBytes and DrWebCureIt (no virus or spyware)
  • restoring to a previous System Restore point
  • chkdsk /f (no errors)
  • disabling Windows Search (no difference)
  • sfc /scannow on a elevated command prompt (stops with an error: "Windows Resource Protection could not perform the requested operation")
  • disabling Active Destkop via registry (like here)
  • disabling every non-microsoft startup program via AutoRuns
  • disabling non-Microsoft shell extensions via ShellExView
  • removing USN JOURNAL with fsutil usn deletejournal /D C: because Sysinternals Process Monitor shows a delay of 5+ seconds on SFTLIST.EXE / FileSystemControl

The freeze is only in EXPLORER.EXE, I can switch to another processes without any slowdown. There are no CPU spikes in Task Manager or Process Explorer.

I discard hardware errors because if I start in Safe Mode the PC ran fine. I cannot do a repair install because Windows (Home Premium) is preinstalled in the notebook and I have no Windows CD.

What else can I try without having to reinstall Windows?

Windows Explorer is taking 30 seconds to start. How can I find out why?

I have a new Core i3 notebook with Windows 7 Home Editon 64-bit. The PC ran fine for several months, but since a week, every time I try to open a folder on Explorer it takes almost 30 seconds to open.

So far, I've tried:

  • checking for virus or spyware with MS Essentials, MalwareBytes and DrWebCureIt (no virus or spyware)

  • restoring to a previous System Restore Point

  • chkdsk /f (no errors)

  • disabling Windows Search (no difference)

  • sfc /scannow on a elevated command prompt. Stops with an error:

    Windows Resource Protection could not perform the requested operation

  • disabling Active Destkop via registry (as explained in How to Disable or Enable Active Desktop in Windows 7)

  • disabling every non-Microsoft startup program via AutoRuns

  • disabling non-Microsoft shell extensions via ShellExView

  • removing USN JOURNAL with fsutil usn deletejournal /D C: because Sysinternals Process Monitor shows a delay of 5+ seconds on SFTLIST.EXE / FileSystemControl

The freeze is only in explorer.exe, I can switch to another processes without any slowdown. There are no CPU spikes in Task Manager or Process Explorer.

I discard hardware errors because if I start in Safe Mode the PC ran fine. I cannot do a repair install because Windows (Home Premium) is preinstalled in the notebook and I have no Windows CD.

What else can I try without having to reinstall Windows?

Source Link
PabloG
  • 879
  • 5
  • 13
  • 21

How to solve Windows 7 Explorer.exe freeze?

I have a new Core i3 notebook with Windows 7 Home Editon 64-bit. The PC ran fine for several months, but since a week every time I try to open a folder on Explorer it takes almost 30 secs to open.

So far, I tried with:

  • checking for virus or spyware with MS Essentials, MalwareBytes and DrWebCureIt (no virus or spyware)
  • restoring to a previous System Restore point
  • chkdsk /f (no errors)
  • disabling Windows Search (no difference)
  • sfc /scannow on a elevated command prompt (stops with an error: "Windows Resource Protection could not perform the requested operation")
  • disabling Active Destkop via registry (like here)
  • disabling every non-microsoft startup program via AutoRuns
  • disabling non-Microsoft shell extensions via ShellExView
  • removing USN JOURNAL with fsutil usn deletejournal /D C: because Sysinternals Process Monitor shows a delay of 5+ seconds on SFTLIST.EXE / FileSystemControl

The freeze is only in EXPLORER.EXE, I can switch to another processes without any slowdown. There are no CPU spikes in Task Manager or Process Explorer.

I discard hardware errors because if I start in Safe Mode the PC ran fine. I cannot do a repair install because Windows (Home Premium) is preinstalled in the notebook and I have no Windows CD.

What else can I try without having to reinstall Windows?