Skip to main content
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

Give Visual Studio the SSD.

Visual Studio is pretty intensive on the disk and the single most important performance improvement you can make is giving Visual Studio an SSD. If you are doing anything other then a little bit of hobby development, then this will improve your life hugely. See Jason's recent experience herehere.

If I were using an MBA, then it would have to be BootCamp all the way so I get the dbest performance from my main tool, Visual Studio. To Hansleman's article here may help to keep the size of Windows down, then it's just down to keeping Visual Studio as small as possible. Use the options in the installer to remove the things you don't need. I'm always leave the C++ options out when installing, also things like Dotfuscator that I don't use. You can always add them back later. (Remember that VB is needed for macros, if you use them.)

Give Visual Studio the SSD.

Visual Studio is pretty intensive on the disk and the single most important performance improvement you can make is giving Visual Studio an SSD. If you are doing anything other then a little bit of hobby development, then this will improve your life hugely. See Jason's recent experience here.

If I were using an MBA, then it would have to be BootCamp all the way so I get the dbest performance from my main tool, Visual Studio. To Hansleman's article here may help to keep the size of Windows down, then it's just down to keeping Visual Studio as small as possible. Use the options in the installer to remove the things you don't need. I'm always leave the C++ options out when installing, also things like Dotfuscator that I don't use. You can always add them back later. (Remember that VB is needed for macros, if you use them.)

Give Visual Studio the SSD.

Visual Studio is pretty intensive on the disk and the single most important performance improvement you can make is giving Visual Studio an SSD. If you are doing anything other then a little bit of hobby development, then this will improve your life hugely. See Jason's recent experience here.

If I were using an MBA, then it would have to be BootCamp all the way so I get the dbest performance from my main tool, Visual Studio. To Hansleman's article here may help to keep the size of Windows down, then it's just down to keeping Visual Studio as small as possible. Use the options in the installer to remove the things you don't need. I'm always leave the C++ options out when installing, also things like Dotfuscator that I don't use. You can always add them back later. (Remember that VB is needed for macros, if you use them.)

Source Link
Sean Kearon
  • 726
  • 2
  • 9
  • 26

Give Visual Studio the SSD.

Visual Studio is pretty intensive on the disk and the single most important performance improvement you can make is giving Visual Studio an SSD. If you are doing anything other then a little bit of hobby development, then this will improve your life hugely. See Jason's recent experience here.

If I were using an MBA, then it would have to be BootCamp all the way so I get the dbest performance from my main tool, Visual Studio. To Hansleman's article here may help to keep the size of Windows down, then it's just down to keeping Visual Studio as small as possible. Use the options in the installer to remove the things you don't need. I'm always leave the C++ options out when installing, also things like Dotfuscator that I don't use. You can always add them back later. (Remember that VB is needed for macros, if you use them.)