Skip to main content
Reomved double word.
Source Link
Chad Harrison
  • 6.1k
  • 13
  • 45
  • 60

Like most laptops, it has both both ethernet and wireless networking options. Likewise, I have a wireless router with 10/100/1000 Mbs. 90% of the time, wireless speeds suffice. But once in a while, I have several gigs of data that needs transfering. In those times, I would physically walk over the router and plug in directly. The problem is that until I disable the wirelless network adapter, Windows still uses the wireless connection as opposed the ethernet connection. Is there a way to configure Windows to give preference to one network adapter once it becomes availabe instead of disabling the other altogether?

Like most laptops, it has both both ethernet and wireless networking options. Likewise, I have a wireless router with 10/100/1000 Mbs. 90% of the time, wireless speeds suffice. But once in a while, I have several gigs of data that needs transfering. In those times, I would physically walk over the router and plug in directly. The problem is that until I disable the wirelless network adapter, Windows still uses the wireless connection as opposed the ethernet connection. Is there a way to configure Windows to give preference to one network adapter once it becomes availabe instead of disabling the other altogether?

Like most laptops, it has both ethernet and wireless networking options. Likewise, I have a wireless router with 10/100/1000 Mbs. 90% of the time, wireless speeds suffice. But once in a while, I have several gigs of data that needs transfering. In those times, I would physically walk over the router and plug in directly. The problem is that until I disable the wirelless network adapter, Windows still uses the wireless connection as opposed the ethernet connection. Is there a way to configure Windows to give preference to one network adapter once it becomes availabe instead of disabling the other altogether?

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackSuper_User/status/230394873105227776
Source Link
Chad Harrison
  • 6.1k
  • 13
  • 45
  • 60

How to give preference over one network connection over another?

Like most laptops, it has both both ethernet and wireless networking options. Likewise, I have a wireless router with 10/100/1000 Mbs. 90% of the time, wireless speeds suffice. But once in a while, I have several gigs of data that needs transfering. In those times, I would physically walk over the router and plug in directly. The problem is that until I disable the wirelless network adapter, Windows still uses the wireless connection as opposed the ethernet connection. Is there a way to configure Windows to give preference to one network adapter once it becomes availabe instead of disabling the other altogether?