Skip to main content
9 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Feb 23, 2013 at 6:55 comment added tog22 Ah, I'm not actually using a Mac but a custom build (though I'm not sure how much SuperUser like people discussing this)
Feb 23, 2013 at 0:45 comment added Harry Johnston @tog22: provided you're not talking about a third-party firmware upgrade, but one provided by Apple, it shouldn't cause any problems reinstalling OS X. (Perhaps check with a Macintosh expert first if you're concerned! I believe StackExchange has a Mac forum.) If you're using BootCamp, that might be related to this problem, I'm not sure how reliable BootCamp is these days.
Feb 22, 2013 at 22:18 comment added tog22 @HarryJohnston: this applies to Win 7 installs 2 separate partitions (as described here), with all cables bar power & monitor unplugged. I'm wary of updating my BIOS as I want to reinstall OS X and am not sure this'll support a new BIOS version.
Feb 22, 2013 at 22:09 comment added tog22 @Harry: I have the same issue, even when I explicitly log out and then shut down from the logon screen.
Aug 16, 2012 at 16:35 comment added Raheel Khan @DavidW: Thanks. I do keep windows up to date religiously. Since this issue is apparent on only one of my desktops, BIOS updates may very well be the reason like Bruno suggested.
Aug 16, 2012 at 12:24 comment added David W I realize you've mentioned that all updates are current, but I would still advise you double-check to ensure there are no updates pending installtion from Windows Update. Windows Update can seriously screw around with the system startup/shutdown sequence in that circumstance.
Aug 2, 2012 at 1:46 comment added Harry Johnston It is possible for third-party software to do this. I suggest you start by finding out whether it still happens if you explicitly log out and then shut down from the logon screen.
Jul 31, 2012 at 9:13 comment added Bruno Pereira This can simply be a hardware issue with your BIOS, care to check if there is an upgrade for your hardware and see if that works?
Jul 31, 2012 at 8:58 history asked Raheel Khan CC BY-SA 3.0