Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

12
  • 1
    What product did you use to encrypt the disk? You describe Linux parallels instead of describing what you did with Windows. There is not enough info here for a useful answer.
    – harrymc
    Commented Jul 24, 2012 at 5:50
  • @harrymc I'm not asking for a specific solution e.g. using TrueCrypt. I'm just asking for anything that would allow windows system volume encryption as well as remote unlocking via ssh. Perhaps another fork of TrueCrypt or FreeOTFE or whatever - I would gladly use it and encrypt my system volume with it. I used the LUKS example to show that such solutions exist, at least for linux. (I edited the question for clarification)
    – speakr
    Commented Jul 24, 2012 at 9:14
  • 1
    One solution might be to convert Windows 7 into a virtual machine inside Linux.
    – harrymc
    Commented Jul 24, 2012 at 9:35
  • 2
    I just found this question which mentions kexec. This could be the holy grail: Booting into a LUKS-encrypted linux by unlocking it via ssh, then using kexec to directly boot a TrueCrypt-encrypted windows system volume from there using the TrueCrypt rescue disk. I'll try that. :)
    – speakr
    Commented Jul 24, 2012 at 14:26
  • 1
    @climenole PsExec can only be used to execute applications on an already booted windows system. Therefore, it is no solution for my scenario.
    – speakr
    Commented Jul 26, 2012 at 7:29