Skip to main content
added the picture
Source Link
James Mertz
  • 26.4k
  • 41
  • 111
  • 163

thisThis is a fairly old question but I have a rather unique solution. Buy a good laptop fan just for the power brick, it wontwon't provide so much cooling that it will cause damage but will keep it running at a reasonable temprature. I own both an AsusASUS ROG gaming laptop and an Alienware one as well. Both power supplies have heat issues.

Personaly I use a box fan leaning at an angle against the wall and I have made a support to hold the psu against the fan. This keeps it very cool.

The picture I attached is an older setup in which I used the power cables size to hold it on the fan!  (also the psu has feet which fit in the fan notches

My Fan SetupMy Fan Setup

this is a fairly old question but I have a rather unique solution. Buy a good laptop fan just for the power brick, it wont provide so much cooling that it will cause damage but will keep it running at a reasonable temprature. I own both an Asus ROG gaming laptop and an Alienware one as well. Both power supplies have heat issues.

Personaly I use a box fan leaning at an angle against the wall and I have made a support to hold the psu against the fan. This keeps it very cool.

The picture I attached is an older setup in which I used the power cables size to hold it on the fan!(also the psu has feet which fit in the fan notches

My Fan Setup

This is a fairly old question but I have a rather unique solution. Buy a good laptop fan just for the power brick, it won't provide so much cooling that it will cause damage but will keep it running at a reasonable temprature. I own both an ASUS ROG gaming laptop and an Alienware one as well. Both power supplies have heat issues.

Personaly I use a box fan leaning at an angle against the wall and I have made a support to hold the psu against the fan. This keeps it very cool.

The picture I attached is an older setup in which I used the power cables size to hold it on the fan!  (also the psu has feet which fit in the fan notches

My Fan Setup

Source Link
Elapsed
  • 71
  • 1
  • 1

this is a fairly old question but I have a rather unique solution. Buy a good laptop fan just for the power brick, it wont provide so much cooling that it will cause damage but will keep it running at a reasonable temprature. I own both an Asus ROG gaming laptop and an Alienware one as well. Both power supplies have heat issues.

Personaly I use a box fan leaning at an angle against the wall and I have made a support to hold the psu against the fan. This keeps it very cool.

The picture I attached is an older setup in which I used the power cables size to hold it on the fan!(also the psu has feet which fit in the fan notches

My Fan Setup