Skip to main content
4 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 4, 2012 at 18:27 comment added Gurken Papst Check that (as already recommended) with hdparm. You can use a Linux live system for that. Reading from/writing to a damaged disk can lock your whole system for minutes, until a timeout occurs. So yes, this can happen if your OS is not on that drive. A completely disconnected drive however will of course not cause any freezes, but I cannot see how this could be related to your problem.
Jul 4, 2012 at 18:21 comment added Gurken Papst Your freezes are likely related to your drive if the LED is always on when it freezes. Have you tried to wait for some time if this happens? It might continue after some minutes. You should also check your S.M.A.R.T. error log with GSmartControl/smartctl. A loose cable is unlikely as there is none in normal laptop computers. You still might want to re-seat the disk to make sure it is connected firmly. If you had no serious problem reading from/writing to the disk, the high start/stop count is probably not caused by bad connection. I rather suspect a extremely aggressive APM setting.
Jul 4, 2012 at 10:24 comment added Renaat De Muynck Thanks for the clear explanation, it gave me some insight. I'm running Windows 7, so I'll try GSmartControl. I already did an extended error scan with HD Tune with no errors. I don't know if this is related but about once a week or so my system freezes and my hard drive led stays on. I have to manually shut down my laptop (I think it could be a loose cable but I'm really guessing here). Could this have caused the high start/stop count? Could a failing/disconnected HD freeze up my OS if it's on another drive?
Jul 3, 2012 at 16:53 history answered Gurken Papst CC BY-SA 3.0