Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

7
  • You've done a good job troubleshooting this and posting the information with your question. Windows 7 seems to like to treat some routers as devices which can be harmful. Have you tried changing the network location to Home or Work? It should then "trust" your router to allow a connection.
    – CharlieRB
    Commented Jul 2, 2012 at 18:52
  • Short update: I realized that the behaviour is not as 'simple' as I thought it was. I am doing a few more experiments and, I will update this post. Commented Jul 2, 2012 at 19:16
  • What does it say under ethernet connection when you do ipconfig in the command prompt? Commented Jul 2, 2012 at 19:42
  • Right now I am not able to reproduce the problem at all, but when I have reproduced, I will post the ipconfig result. Commented Jul 2, 2012 at 19:44
  • After a few days, the problem has not reoccurred. But it happened many times over the last few months so I'm sure it will happen at some point. Thanks for all the advice. Commented Jul 5, 2012 at 18:08