Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • as SystemV was replaced by upstart a while ago, the concept of runlevels is no longer valid on the last few Ubuntu versions (see also this issue at AskUbuntu.com).
    – Izzy
    Commented Jul 2, 2012 at 14:41
  • @Izzy Argh, I feel old now :< Commented Jul 2, 2012 at 15:31
  • @Darth_Android: Don't worry. Took me a while to get used to as well. To be honest: It took until a few days ago when I was trying to deactivate some unused services myself that I found out :D
    – Izzy
    Commented Jul 2, 2012 at 15:37
  • For me, I want to do it manually. So, I chose this first answer. Thank you all for other answers, too. In fact, I should do sudo stop lightdm. I can find the way by the keywords from your answers.
    – 19 Lee
    Commented Jul 2, 2012 at 16:43