Skip to main content

Timeline for PC powers off at random times

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

11 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 27, 2012 at 17:53 comment added Timo Huovinen Thank you, it was the motherboard, probably because of the reason you stated.
Jun 27, 2012 at 17:52 vote accept Timo Huovinen
Jun 24, 2012 at 2:32 comment added OmnipotentEntity Generally but not always, if you plug them in backwards and turn it on you'll smell some magic smoke, it's been a while, but I'll wager if you stick your nose down near the USB controller or firewire controller you might smell some.
Jun 23, 2012 at 15:13 comment added Timo Huovinen @OmnipotentEntity you never said port, but I see what you mean, the internal 1394 and USB ports look very similar, might be the cause for the problems. Is there really no way to make sure that this is the reason?
Jun 23, 2012 at 6:01 comment added Timo Huovinen I completely disabled USB and 1394 in BIOS, the pc proceeded to boot into windows, and after a while it shutdown... my attempt at the workaround failed
Jun 23, 2012 at 5:30 comment added Timo Huovinen I asked everyone in the house if they did that. Yes someone did connect the USB to the firewire port once -_-, will disable all USB/1394 in the BIOS and see what happens.
Jun 23, 2012 at 5:25 comment added Timo Huovinen I looked at the firewire port, and I am very sure that I never connected any USB's there.
Jun 22, 2012 at 20:59 comment added OmnipotentEntity This will also happen if you accidentally install a USB cable into the 1394 slot. FYI. So even if you don't have firewire you can still accidentally screw up your mobo.
Jun 22, 2012 at 20:34 comment added Timo Huovinen Don't remember having anything to do with 1394 ever
Jun 22, 2012 at 20:30 comment added Phillip R. I had a system that did the same. Turned out to be the motherboard. I first started noticing it when one of the nic ports stopped working. I tore it apart and had it running without a case and noticed that if I plugged a wired cable into the working nic it would die, but if I used the onboard wireless it would work fine. I replaced the board and it has worked fine since.
Jun 22, 2012 at 20:26 history answered OmnipotentEntity CC BY-SA 3.0