Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

9
  • I had a system that did the same. Turned out to be the motherboard. I first started noticing it when one of the nic ports stopped working. I tore it apart and had it running without a case and noticed that if I plugged a wired cable into the working nic it would die, but if I used the onboard wireless it would work fine. I replaced the board and it has worked fine since.
    – Phillip R.
    Commented Jun 22, 2012 at 20:30
  • Don't remember having anything to do with 1394 ever Commented Jun 22, 2012 at 20:34
  • This will also happen if you accidentally install a USB cable into the 1394 slot. FYI. So even if you don't have firewire you can still accidentally screw up your mobo. Commented Jun 22, 2012 at 20:59
  • I looked at the firewire port, and I am very sure that I never connected any USB's there. Commented Jun 23, 2012 at 5:25
  • I asked everyone in the house if they did that. Yes someone did connect the USB to the firewire port once -_-, will disable all USB/1394 in the BIOS and see what happens. Commented Jun 23, 2012 at 5:30