Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Question Protected by CommunityBot
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1560824236217884672
Fixed HTTPS image links, see https://meta.superuser.com/questions/12189/lets-fix-all-the-broken-images
Source Link

How does one diagnose/discover memory-related problems, if Task Manager appears to not be reporting correctly?

I must have a memory leak or something -- I'm at 75% usage of my 12 GB of memory, but Task Managers listings of processes' memory usage isn't adding up (yes, "Show processes from all users" is checked).

It seems like this "phantom" memory usage grows in relation to how long the system's been up. It shows that there are 118 total processes. Besides the top 5, all of them are under 50 MB.

The top process is firefox, using 2.6 GB. Adobe Premiere at 900 MB. Plugin-container at 300 MB. Pale Moon at 275 MB. Explorer.exe at 94 MB.

How in the world can I find what's using up the rest of my memory? It seems as if Task Manager isn't seeing everything that's being used. Perhaps there's some kind of memory leak? Or program's aren't releasing used memory properly?

Resource Monitor reports (click for larger version):

Resource Monitor Printout http://bit.ly/KEeXngResource Monitor Printout

NOTE:

  1. As my main OS drive is an SSD, SuperFetch is disabled on my system.
  2. And I understand the principal that unused ram is "wasted" ram, so to speak. However, when I see my memory usage nearly used to peak capacity, it's stopping me from running/loading subsequent programs (from my own concern), and even sends me to task to close many down (with hardly much effect on decreasing memory usage, at least noticeably and within short time period).
  3. When the memory fills up, I hate seeing the 1GB page file on my SSD expand to the 6GB limit I've set, and me "sweating" with the knowledge that my "poor" SSD is likely being ground down to dust as Windows heavily/rampantly turns to using it as a full-fledged memory stick. (On that note, should I just hard-cap the page file to a static 1GB?)

How does one diagnose/discover memory-related problems, if Task Manager appears to not be reporting correctly?

I must have a memory leak or something -- I'm at 75% usage of my 12 GB of memory, but Task Managers listings of processes' memory usage isn't adding up (yes, "Show processes from all users" is checked).

It seems like this "phantom" memory usage grows in relation to how long the system's been up. It shows that there are 118 total processes. Besides the top 5, all of them are under 50 MB.

The top process is firefox, using 2.6 GB. Adobe Premiere at 900 MB. Plugin-container at 300 MB. Pale Moon at 275 MB. Explorer.exe at 94 MB.

How in the world can I find what's using up the rest of my memory? It seems as if Task Manager isn't seeing everything that's being used. Perhaps there's some kind of memory leak? Or program's aren't releasing used memory properly?

Resource Monitor reports (click for larger version):

Resource Monitor Printout http://bit.ly/KEeXng

NOTE:

  1. As my main OS drive is an SSD, SuperFetch is disabled on my system.
  2. And I understand the principal that unused ram is "wasted" ram, so to speak. However, when I see my memory usage nearly used to peak capacity, it's stopping me from running/loading subsequent programs (from my own concern), and even sends me to task to close many down (with hardly much effect on decreasing memory usage, at least noticeably and within short time period).
  3. When the memory fills up, I hate seeing the 1GB page file on my SSD expand to the 6GB limit I've set, and me "sweating" with the knowledge that my "poor" SSD is likely being ground down to dust as Windows heavily/rampantly turns to using it as a full-fledged memory stick. (On that note, should I just hard-cap the page file to a static 1GB?)

How does one diagnose/discover memory-related problems, if Task Manager appears to not be reporting correctly?

I must have a memory leak or something -- I'm at 75% usage of my 12 GB of memory, but Task Managers listings of processes' memory usage isn't adding up (yes, "Show processes from all users" is checked).

It seems like this "phantom" memory usage grows in relation to how long the system's been up. It shows that there are 118 total processes. Besides the top 5, all of them are under 50 MB.

The top process is firefox, using 2.6 GB. Adobe Premiere at 900 MB. Plugin-container at 300 MB. Pale Moon at 275 MB. Explorer.exe at 94 MB.

How in the world can I find what's using up the rest of my memory? It seems as if Task Manager isn't seeing everything that's being used. Perhaps there's some kind of memory leak? Or program's aren't releasing used memory properly?

Resource Monitor reports (click for larger version):

Resource Monitor Printout

NOTE:

  1. As my main OS drive is an SSD, SuperFetch is disabled on my system.
  2. And I understand the principal that unused ram is "wasted" ram, so to speak. However, when I see my memory usage nearly used to peak capacity, it's stopping me from running/loading subsequent programs (from my own concern), and even sends me to task to close many down (with hardly much effect on decreasing memory usage, at least noticeably and within short time period).
  3. When the memory fills up, I hate seeing the 1GB page file on my SSD expand to the 6GB limit I've set, and me "sweating" with the knowledge that my "poor" SSD is likely being ground down to dust as Windows heavily/rampantly turns to using it as a full-fledged memory stick. (On that note, should I just hard-cap the page file to a static 1GB?)
edited body; edited title
Source Link
Coldblackice
  • 6k
  • 19
  • 58
  • 88

How do I find what's eating up all of my system's memory? (not SuperFetch)

How does one diagnose/discover memory-related problems, if Task Manager appears to not be reporting correctly?

I must have a memory leak or something -- I'm at 75% usage of my 12 GB of memory, but Task Managers listings of processes' memory usage isn't adding up (yes, "Show processes from all users" is checked).

It seems like this "phantom" memory usage grows in relation to how long the system's been up. It shows that there are 118 total processes. Besides the top 5, all of them are under 50 MB.

The top process is firefox, using 2.6 GB. Adobe Premiere at 900 MB. Plugin-container at 300 MB. Pale Moon at 275 MB. Explorer.exe at 94 MB.

How in the world can I find what's using up the rest of my memory? It seems as if Task Manager isn't seeing everything that's being used. Perhaps there's some kind of memory leak? Or program's aren't releasing used memory properly?

Resource Monitor reports (click for larger version):

Resource Monitor Printout http://bit.ly/KEeXng

NOTE:

  1. As my main OS drive is an SSD, SuperFetch is disabled on my system.
  2. And I understand the principal that unused ram is "wasted" ram, so to speak. However, when I see my memory usage nearly used to peak capacity, it's stopping me from running/loading subsequent programs (from my own concern), and even sends me to task to close many down (with hardly much effect on decreasing memory usage, at least noticeably and within short time period).
  3. When the memory fills up, I hate seeing the 1GB page file on my SSD expand to the 6GB limit I've set, and me "sweating" with the knowledge that my "poor" SSD is likely being ground down to dust as Windows heavily/rampantly turns to using it as a full-fledged memory stick. (On that note, should I just hard-cap the page file to a statcistatic 1GB?)

How do I find what's eating up all of my system's memory?

How does one diagnose/discover memory-related problems, if Task Manager appears to not be reporting correctly?

I must have a memory leak or something -- I'm at 75% usage of my 12 GB of memory, but Task Managers listings of processes' memory usage isn't adding up (yes, "Show processes from all users" is checked).

It seems like this "phantom" memory usage grows in relation to how long the system's been up. It shows that there are 118 total processes. Besides the top 5, all of them are under 50 MB.

The top process is firefox, using 2.6 GB. Adobe Premiere at 900 MB. Plugin-container at 300 MB. Pale Moon at 275 MB. Explorer.exe at 94 MB.

How in the world can I find what's using up the rest of my memory? It seems as if Task Manager isn't seeing everything that's being used. Perhaps there's some kind of memory leak? Or program's aren't releasing used memory properly?

Resource Monitor reports (click for larger version):

Resource Monitor Printout http://bit.ly/KEeXng

NOTE:

  1. As my main OS drive is an SSD, SuperFetch is disabled on my system.
  2. And I understand the principal that unused ram is "wasted" ram, so to speak. However, when I see my memory usage nearly used to peak capacity, it's stopping me from running/loading subsequent programs (from my own concern), and even sends me to task to close many down (with hardly much effect on decreasing memory usage, at least noticeably and within short time period).
  3. When the memory fills up, I hate seeing the 1GB page file on my SSD expand to the 6GB limit I've set, and me "sweating" with the knowledge that my "poor" SSD is likely being ground down to dust as Windows heavily/rampantly turns to using it as a full-fledged memory stick. (On that note, should I just hard-cap the page file to a statci 1GB?)

How do I find what's eating up all of my system's memory? (not SuperFetch)

How does one diagnose/discover memory-related problems, if Task Manager appears to not be reporting correctly?

I must have a memory leak or something -- I'm at 75% usage of my 12 GB of memory, but Task Managers listings of processes' memory usage isn't adding up (yes, "Show processes from all users" is checked).

It seems like this "phantom" memory usage grows in relation to how long the system's been up. It shows that there are 118 total processes. Besides the top 5, all of them are under 50 MB.

The top process is firefox, using 2.6 GB. Adobe Premiere at 900 MB. Plugin-container at 300 MB. Pale Moon at 275 MB. Explorer.exe at 94 MB.

How in the world can I find what's using up the rest of my memory? It seems as if Task Manager isn't seeing everything that's being used. Perhaps there's some kind of memory leak? Or program's aren't releasing used memory properly?

Resource Monitor reports (click for larger version):

Resource Monitor Printout http://bit.ly/KEeXng

NOTE:

  1. As my main OS drive is an SSD, SuperFetch is disabled on my system.
  2. And I understand the principal that unused ram is "wasted" ram, so to speak. However, when I see my memory usage nearly used to peak capacity, it's stopping me from running/loading subsequent programs (from my own concern), and even sends me to task to close many down (with hardly much effect on decreasing memory usage, at least noticeably and within short time period).
  3. When the memory fills up, I hate seeing the 1GB page file on my SSD expand to the 6GB limit I've set, and me "sweating" with the knowledge that my "poor" SSD is likely being ground down to dust as Windows heavily/rampantly turns to using it as a full-fledged memory stick. (On that note, should I just hard-cap the page file to a static 1GB?)
added 807 characters in body
Source Link
Coldblackice
  • 6k
  • 19
  • 58
  • 88

How does one diagnose/discover memory-related problems, if Task Manager appears to not be reporting correctly?

I must have a memory leak or something -- I'm at 75% usage of my 12 GB of memory, but Task Managers listings of processes' memory usage isn't adding up (yes, "Show processes from all users" is checked).

It seems like this "phantom" memory usage grows in relation to how long the system's been up. It shows that there are 118 total processes. Besides the top 5, all of them are under 50 MB.

The top process is firefox, using 2.6 GB. Adobe Premiere at 900 MB. Plugin-container at 300 MB. Pale Moon at 275 MB. Explorer.exe at 94 MB.

How in the world can I find what's using up the rest of my memory? It seems as if Task Manager isn't seeing everything that's being used. Perhaps there's some kind of memory leak? Or program's aren't releasing used memory properly?

Resource Monitor reports (click for larger version):

httpResource Monitor Printout http://bit.ly/KEeXng

NOTE:

  1. As my main OS drive is an SSD, SuperFetch is disabled on my system.
  2. And I understand the principal that unused ram is "wasted" ram, so to speak. However, when I see my memory usage nearly used to peak capacity, it's stopping me from running/loading subsequent programs (from my own concern), and even sends me to task to close many down (with hardly much effect on decreasing memory usage, at least noticeably and within short time period).
  3. When the memory fills up, I hate seeing the 1GB page file on my SSD expand to the 6GB limit I've set, and me "sweating" with the knowledge that my "poor" SSD is likely being ground down to dust as Windows heavily/rampantly turns to using it as a full-fledged memory stick. (On that note, should I just hard-cap the page file to a statci 1GB?)

How does one diagnose/discover memory-related problems, if Task Manager appears to not be reporting correctly?

I must have a memory leak or something -- I'm at 75% usage of my 12 GB of memory, but Task Managers listings of processes' memory usage isn't adding up (yes, "Show processes from all users" is checked).

It seems like this "phantom" memory usage grows in relation to how long the system's been up. It shows that there are 118 total processes. Besides the top 5, all of them are under 50 MB.

The top process is firefox, using 2.6 GB. Adobe Premiere at 900 MB. Plugin-container at 300 MB. Pale Moon at 275 MB. Explorer.exe at 94 MB.

How in the world can I find what's using up the rest of my memory? It seems as if Task Manager isn't seeing everything that's being used. Perhaps there's some kind of memory leak? Or program's aren't releasing used memory properly?

Resource Monitor reports (click for larger version):

http://bit.ly/KEeXng

How does one diagnose/discover memory-related problems, if Task Manager appears to not be reporting correctly?

I must have a memory leak or something -- I'm at 75% usage of my 12 GB of memory, but Task Managers listings of processes' memory usage isn't adding up (yes, "Show processes from all users" is checked).

It seems like this "phantom" memory usage grows in relation to how long the system's been up. It shows that there are 118 total processes. Besides the top 5, all of them are under 50 MB.

The top process is firefox, using 2.6 GB. Adobe Premiere at 900 MB. Plugin-container at 300 MB. Pale Moon at 275 MB. Explorer.exe at 94 MB.

How in the world can I find what's using up the rest of my memory? It seems as if Task Manager isn't seeing everything that's being used. Perhaps there's some kind of memory leak? Or program's aren't releasing used memory properly?

Resource Monitor reports (click for larger version):

Resource Monitor Printout http://bit.ly/KEeXng

NOTE:

  1. As my main OS drive is an SSD, SuperFetch is disabled on my system.
  2. And I understand the principal that unused ram is "wasted" ram, so to speak. However, when I see my memory usage nearly used to peak capacity, it's stopping me from running/loading subsequent programs (from my own concern), and even sends me to task to close many down (with hardly much effect on decreasing memory usage, at least noticeably and within short time period).
  3. When the memory fills up, I hate seeing the 1GB page file on my SSD expand to the 6GB limit I've set, and me "sweating" with the knowledge that my "poor" SSD is likely being ground down to dust as Windows heavily/rampantly turns to using it as a full-fledged memory stick. (On that note, should I just hard-cap the page file to a statci 1GB?)
embedded image
Source Link
Indrek
  • 24.6k
  • 14
  • 91
  • 93
Loading
Source Link
Coldblackice
  • 6k
  • 19
  • 58
  • 88
Loading