Skip to main content
removed manufacturer meta tag
Link
fixer1234
  • 27.6k
  • 61
  • 78
  • 123
Question Unprotected by Daniel Beck
Question Protected by Daniel Beck
Source Link

What are the main differences between the Western Digital "My Passport," "My Passport Essential," and "My Passport Studio" external hard drives?

My goal is to buy a 2TB external portable drive for use with my current MacBook Pro (Mid-2007) and for use with my next Mac (hopefully the rumored 15" MacBook Air).

I'm planning to buy a Western Digital drive from the passport series, but all the different models are confusing. Here's what I've found so far:

My Passport:

  • USB 3.0
  • Maximum 2TB

My Passport Essential:

  • USB 3.0
  • Maximum 500GB according to Western Digital, but I found this 2TB version

My Passport Studio:

  • USB 2.0 + Firewire 800
  • Maximum 2TB

My question is what are the main differences in these drives aside from form factor, formatting, and available ports? Are there any differences that really matter? The My Passport and My Passport Essential look to be almost exactly the same aside from the enclosure. The My Passport and My Passport Studio look to be the same aside from the available interfaces.