Skip to main content
Changed answer to focus on second option
Source Link
user3463
user3463

Don't call the application directly. Run it from a shortcut that starts minimized.Run it from a shortcut that starts minimized.

I suppose you could alsoalso add a batch file into the mix that uses /start /min for the same effect, but I suspect the batch file will steal focus unless it is called from a shortcut that starts minimized.

EDIT: The start /min does steal focus very briefly, but it works on my machine, using a .cmd batch file that calls a new Command Line window (using cmd.exe).

My batch file looks like this:

@echo off
cls
start /min C:\Users\Randolph\Desktop\shortcut.lnk

The shortcut itself opens cmd.exe and has default options selected, except that it opens minimized (the option Run: is set to Minimized).

Don't call the application directly. Run it from a shortcut that starts minimized.

I suppose you could also add a batch file into the mix that uses /start /min for the same effect, but I suspect the batch file will steal focus unless it is called from a shortcut that starts minimized.

Don't call the application directly. Run it from a shortcut that starts minimized.

I suppose you could also add a batch file into the mix that uses /start /min for the same effect, but I suspect the batch file will steal focus unless it is called from a shortcut that starts minimized.

EDIT: The start /min does steal focus very briefly, but it works on my machine, using a .cmd batch file that calls a new Command Line window (using cmd.exe).

My batch file looks like this:

@echo off
cls
start /min C:\Users\Randolph\Desktop\shortcut.lnk

The shortcut itself opens cmd.exe and has default options selected, except that it opens minimized (the option Run: is set to Minimized).

Source Link
user3463
user3463

Don't call the application directly. Run it from a shortcut that starts minimized.

I suppose you could also add a batch file into the mix that uses /start /min for the same effect, but I suspect the batch file will steal focus unless it is called from a shortcut that starts minimized.