Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

7
  • Strangely, this doesn't work. I have created a shortcut that starts the EXE minimized, and when I doubleclick the shortcut (LNK file), the EXE is indeed started minimized. But when I tell Task Scheduler to start the LNK, the EXE is still not minimized. Commented Apr 25, 2012 at 17:34
  • That's interesting. What happens with the start /min option? And does the task have the same privileges that you do? I'm wondering if this is to do with interacting with the desktop like some services do, where the permissions are slightly different. Geo's suggestion with VBScript may be the way to go.
    – user3463
    Commented Apr 25, 2012 at 17:37
  • I've just noticed this: when I create a task using a shortcut, it ignores the shortcut and goes directly to the target. Perhaps this is what's happening with you and you need to paste the path to the lnk directly into the Program/Script box?
    – user3463
    Commented Apr 25, 2012 at 17:42
  • I noticed that too, but I wasn't fooled by it. I had to write ahs.lnk manually in the task's properties. But still... Also, the BAT approach doesn't work. For some unknown reason, when run, the task opens a console window with the exe file as title, but the contents of cmd. Commented Apr 25, 2012 at 17:43
  • The start /min worked on my computer, I'm sorry to say. I don't know what to suggest now.
    – user3463
    Commented Apr 25, 2012 at 17:47