Skip to main content
edited body
Source Link
Xeoncross
  • 4.7k
  • 9
  • 37
  • 48

I have a windows 7 computer that I would like to connect a second hard drive to that contains ubuntu. I plan on running that copy of ubuntu inside virtualbox while using windows.

However, I can't seem to load windows if I connect the second hard drive with ubuntu. It starts to load windows and then swiches to a loading bar that says "Windows is loading files" once the bar completes, it does it a second time and then the page empties with just a small dash cursor like you might have on a terminal.

_

I was able to bootload both by booting with only the windows 7 drive attached, and then attaching the ubuntu drive via USB after windows loaded.

What would prevent windows from loading when a drive with ubuntu was attached?

  • They both are setup as primary drives with a MBR.
  • They both showup in the bios.
  • They are both using SATA 2 ports and both boot when only they are attached.

I'm using a core i7 system with a gigabyte h61ma-d3v motherboard.

I have a windows 7 computer that I would like to connect a second hard drive to that contains ubuntu. I plan on running that copy of ubuntu inside virtualbox while using windows.

However, I can't seem to load windows if I connect the second hard drive with ubuntu. It starts to load windows and then swiches to a loading bar that says "Windows is loading files" once the bar completes, it does it a second time and then the page empties with just a small dash cursor like you might have on a terminal.

_

I was able to boot both by booting with only the windows 7 drive attached, and then attaching the ubuntu drive via USB after windows loaded.

What would prevent windows from loading when a drive with ubuntu was attached?

  • They both are setup as primary drives with a MBR.
  • They both showup in the bios.
  • They are both using SATA 2 ports and both boot when only they are attached.

I'm using a core i7 system with a gigabyte h61ma-d3v motherboard.

I have a windows 7 computer that I would like to connect a second hard drive to that contains ubuntu. I plan on running that copy of ubuntu inside virtualbox while using windows.

However, I can't seem to load windows if I connect the second hard drive with ubuntu. It starts to load windows and then swiches to a loading bar that says "Windows is loading files" once the bar completes, it does it a second time and then the page empties with just a small dash cursor like you might have on a terminal.

_

I was able to load both by booting with only the windows 7 drive attached, and then attaching the ubuntu drive via USB after windows loaded.

What would prevent windows from loading when a drive with ubuntu was attached?

  • They both are setup as primary drives with a MBR.
  • They both showup in the bios.
  • They are both using SATA 2 ports and both boot when only they are attached.

I'm using a core i7 system with a gigabyte h61ma-d3v motherboard.

Source Link
Xeoncross
  • 4.7k
  • 9
  • 37
  • 48

Adding Ubuntu hard drive to existing windows 7 system

I have a windows 7 computer that I would like to connect a second hard drive to that contains ubuntu. I plan on running that copy of ubuntu inside virtualbox while using windows.

However, I can't seem to load windows if I connect the second hard drive with ubuntu. It starts to load windows and then swiches to a loading bar that says "Windows is loading files" once the bar completes, it does it a second time and then the page empties with just a small dash cursor like you might have on a terminal.

_

I was able to boot both by booting with only the windows 7 drive attached, and then attaching the ubuntu drive via USB after windows loaded.

What would prevent windows from loading when a drive with ubuntu was attached?

  • They both are setup as primary drives with a MBR.
  • They both showup in the bios.
  • They are both using SATA 2 ports and both boot when only they are attached.

I'm using a core i7 system with a gigabyte h61ma-d3v motherboard.