Skip to main content

Install Linux Mint on PC without bootable cdCD

Unfortunately my pc's cd-romPC's CD drive is not bootable,bootable; I have such a mixture of sata,ide drive'sSATA and IDE drives, thatso until iI have more money to redo my controller setup, I can't boot from any cd.

AtmCurrently, I have a dvdDVD burned with latest version of Linux Mint, and I have a usban USB drive, with an olderold version of linux mintMint.

I have a partition ready to install linux mintLinx Mint into, but no idea how to install it, since I can only boot to my hard drive.

I am totally unable to boot to cdCD, so that is definitely out.

My main partition is WinXP Pro SP3.

Is there software I can use to format my linuxLinux partition, so that I can then just copy linux mint cdMint over to that partition?

  Or is there a better way to install linux mint?

  I have to do it within windows xpWindows XP, since that's all that I can boot as atmright now.

I have considered Mint4Win, but that doesn't allow a full installation of Linux Mint.

Any ideas?

Thank you?

Install Linux Mint on PC without bootable cd

Unfortunately my pc's cd-rom drive is not bootable, I have such a mixture of sata,ide drive's, that until i have more money to redo my controller setup, I can't boot from any cd.

Atm, I have a dvd burned with latest version of Linux Mint, and I have a usb drive, with an older version of linux mint.

I have a partition ready to install linux mint into, but no idea how to install it, since I can only boot to my hard drive.

I am totally unable to boot to cd, so that is definitely out.

My main partition is WinXP Pro SP3.

Is there software I can use to format my linux partition, so that I can then just copy linux mint cd over to that partition?

  Or is there a better way to install linux mint?

  I have to do it within windows xp, since that's all that I can boot as atm.

I have considered Mint4Win, but that doesn't allow a full installation of Linux Mint.

Any ideas?

Thank you?

Install Linux Mint on PC without bootable CD

Unfortunately my PC's CD drive is not bootable; I have such a mixture of SATA and IDE drives, so until I have more money to redo my controller setup, I can't boot from any cd.

Currently, I have a DVD burned with latest version of Linux Mint, and I have an USB drive with an old version of Mint.

I have a partition ready to install Linx Mint into, but no idea how to install it, since I can only boot to my hard drive.

I am totally unable to boot to CD, so that is definitely out.

My main partition is WinXP Pro SP3.

Is there software I can use to format my Linux partition, so that I can then just copy Mint over to that partition? Or is there a better way to install linux mint? I have to do it within Windows XP, since that's all that I can boot right now.

I have considered Mint4Win, but that doesn't allow a full installation of Linux Mint.

Any ideas?

Source Link
crosenblum
  • 255
  • 2
  • 4
  • 15

Install Linux Mint on PC without bootable cd

Unfortunately my pc's cd-rom drive is not bootable, I have such a mixture of sata,ide drive's, that until i have more money to redo my controller setup, I can't boot from any cd.

Atm, I have a dvd burned with latest version of Linux Mint, and I have a usb drive, with an older version of linux mint.

I have a partition ready to install linux mint into, but no idea how to install it, since I can only boot to my hard drive.

I am totally unable to boot to cd, so that is definitely out.

My main partition is WinXP Pro SP3.

Is there software I can use to format my linux partition, so that I can then just copy linux mint cd over to that partition?

Or is there a better way to install linux mint?

I have to do it within windows xp, since that's all that I can boot as atm.

I have considered Mint4Win, but that doesn't allow a full installation of Linux Mint.

Any ideas?

Thank you?