Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • 1
    The click could be your hard drive snapping to rest position when power is lost, that part sounds somewhat normal. As to the actual power loss, I'm not sure but it could be overheating - can you check your CPU temperatures from the BIOS? Does it last a shorter time if you turn it back on immediately as opposed to waiting 15 minutes?
    – Bob
    Commented Mar 20, 2012 at 9:31
  • I never thought of the click being the harddrive. It takes longer if it's off for a while, that's why I thought of a cooling problem. I'll check if I can see the CPU temprature. Good tip.
    – ZEDA-NL
    Commented Mar 20, 2012 at 16:20
  • The symptoms gone worse. Now when turning the power on, only the power led will come on, but goes black in about halve a second. It's basically same as when I have unplugged the power and the battery is completely exhaused. I'm pretty sure it won't get too hot in 0.5 seconds. I guess it's a power problem after all (?).
    – ZEDA-NL
    Commented Mar 21, 2012 at 8:57