Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1210938578320216064
edited tags
Link
Hennes
  • 65.3k
  • 7
  • 113
  • 168
deleted 45 characters in body
Source Link
Braiam
  • 4.7k
  • 3
  • 27
  • 58

I have a directory on my Windows 7 machine that has hundreds if not thousands of sub-directories. Some of them have files, some do not. I want to delete all the empty directories.

Looking at the del and rmdir DOS command, it does not look like you can recursively do this without deleting all the files. Is there a way to do this from the command line? Or is there a tool that would do it for me?

I have a directory on my Windows 7 machine that has hundreds if not thousands of sub-directories. Some of them have files, some do not. I want to delete all the empty directories.

Looking at the del and rmdir DOS command, it does not look like you can recursively do this without deleting all the files. Is there a way to do this from the command line? Or is there a tool that would do it for me?

I have a directory on my Windows 7 machine that has hundreds if not thousands of sub-directories. Some of them have files, some do not. I want to delete all the empty directories.

Looking at the del and rmdir DOS command, it does not look like you can recursively do this without deleting all the files. Is there a way to do this from the command line?

Question Protected by nhinkle
Minor edit: grammar/spelling/case/punctation/etc.
Source Link
Peter Mortensen
  • 12.2k
  • 23
  • 72
  • 90

recursively Recursively delete empty directories in windowsWindows

recursively Recursively delete empty directories in windowsWindows

I have a directory on my Windows 7 machine that has hundreds if not thousands of sub-directories. Some of them have files, some do not. I want to delete all the empty directories.

Looking at the del and rmdir DOS command, it does not look like you can recursively do this without deleting all the files. Is there a way to do this from the command line? Or is there a tool that would do it for me?

recursively delete empty directories in windows

I have a directory on my Windows 7 machine that has hundreds if not thousands of sub-directories. Some of them have files, some do not. I want to delete all the empty directories.

Looking at the del and rmdir DOS command, it does not look like you can recursively do this without deleting all the files. Is there a way to do this from the command line? Or is there a tool that would do it for me?

Recursively delete empty directories in Windows

I have a directory on my Windows 7 machine that has hundreds if not thousands of sub-directories. Some of them have files, some do not. I want to delete all the empty directories.

Looking at the del and rmdir DOS command, it does not look like you can recursively do this without deleting all the files. Is there a way to do this from the command line? Or is there a tool that would do it for me?

edited tags
Link
quack quixote
  • 42.9k
  • 14
  • 108
  • 130
Loading
Source Link
mohlsen
  • 1.5k
  • 2
  • 12
  • 12
Loading