Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
Hennes
  • 65.3k
  • 7
  • 113
  • 168
Source Link

How can I install emacs customizations without apt-get?

I'm an emacs newbie trying to make the switch; after configuring org-mode to my liking (my primary reason for switching) the next thing I wanted to do was customize the colors. I know several people have asked about getting emacs color-theme to work, but I've been searching for over an hour and so far the instructions haven't helped me so please bear with me.

I'm using GNU Emacs for OSX from here on 10.6.7.

Most instructions on the web say to start by running

sudo apt-get install emacs-goodies-el

If I were running linux that'd be no problem, but Macs don't have apt-get that I know of so I'm trying to figure out what to do instead.

I found a copy of color-theme.el and the themes/ folder in a tarball here and put it in my emacs.d/ directory. Then I added the boilerplate stuff to my init.el file:

(setq load-path (append load-path (list "~/.emacs.d/themes")))
(setq load-path (append load-path (list "~/.emacs.d/color-theme.el")))

(require 'color-theme)
(color-theme-initialize)
(color-theme-robin-hood)  

But when I load emacs I am still getting this error:

File error: Cannot open load file, color-theme

My questions

  • Are there other things besides color-theme contained in emacs-goodies-el that are needed for color-theme to work properly on Mac?
  • If so, where can I download these files and install them without apt-get?

Thanks for your help.