Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • 1
    You could try going the other direction and use a program such as Caffeine to make the timeout not apply to some users, if these programs simulate user activity.
    – Daniel Beck
    Commented Jan 2, 2012 at 15:12
  • Oooh, that should do the trick nicely. If you repost as an answer I'll accept your solution.
    – user5024
    Commented Jan 2, 2012 at 17:03
  • Well, does it work? Haven't tried to use it with that option myself.
    – Daniel Beck
    Commented Jan 2, 2012 at 17:30
  • It seemed to work at first, but I've just found myself logged out due to inactivity. I think I may have had caffeine configured to only keep the system awake for a defined duration. I've now configured caffeine to work indefinitely, and am testing further, and will report back.
    – user5024
    Commented Jan 2, 2012 at 19:25
  • Unfortunately, it doesn't seem to work. I keep getting logged out despite caffeine being configured to keep the system in an active state. Many thanks for your suggestion though.
    – user5024
    Commented Jan 2, 2012 at 21:36