Skip to main content
deleted 2 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
Ƭᴇcʜιᴇ007
  • 113.2k
  • 19
  • 203
  • 270

Write Fedora.iso to isbUSB and boot it from a macbookMacbook

I have an .iso image of the full fedoraFedora 16 install (Downloaded from http://fedoraproject.org/en/get-fedora-options#formats as "Fedora 16 DVD") and the question now is: How do I write it on an usba USB stick, so I can install it on my Mac book?

I tried using ddDD as the install guide said, and that gave me an usba USB stick which can boot from My Pcmy PC. But it can't boot from the macMac (The Mac start menu don't show it as a boot option).

Edit: I downloaded a live install image, and did this (sddSSD is my usbUSB 4GB thing)

/sbin/mkdosfs -F 32 -n usbdisk /dev/dev/sdd1

sudo livecd-iso-to-disk --format --reset-mbr --efi /tmp/download/Fedora-16-i686-Live-KDE.iso /dev/sdd1 

And this produced an image which can boot on my pc but not on my mac. This seems to indicate that the --efi--efi is not working, because if it really was efiEFI it would not boot on a normal pc, would it?

I then tried this: (Difference beeingbeing that I write the image directrydirectory to /dev/sdd instead of /dev/sdd1) but this still will not boot on the mac.Mac (Itit newer shows up at the startup screen on the macMac).

sudo livecd-iso-to-disk --format --reset-mbr --efi /tmp/download/Fedora-

psPS: My host linuxLinux is Fedora 13.

Write Fedora.iso to isb and boot it from a macbook

I have an .iso image of the full fedora 16 install (Downloaded from http://fedoraproject.org/en/get-fedora-options#formats as "Fedora 16 DVD") and the question now is: How do I write it on an usb stick, so I can install it on my Mac book?

I tried using dd as the install guide said, and that gave me an usb stick which can boot from My Pc. But it can't boot from the mac (The Mac start menu don't show it as a boot option).

Edit: I downloaded a live install image, and did this (sdd is my usb 4GB thing)

/sbin/mkdosfs -F 32 -n usbdisk /dev/dev/sdd1

sudo livecd-iso-to-disk --format --reset-mbr --efi /tmp/download/Fedora-16-i686-Live-KDE.iso /dev/sdd1 

And this produced an image which can boot on my pc but not on my mac. This seems to indicate that the --efi is not working, because if it really was efi it would not boot on a normal pc, would it?

I then tried this: (Difference beeing that I write the image directry to /dev/sdd instead of /dev/sdd1) but this still will not boot on the mac. (It newer shows up at the startup screen on the mac).

sudo livecd-iso-to-disk --format --reset-mbr --efi /tmp/download/Fedora-

ps: My host linux is Fedora 13.

Write Fedora.iso to USB and boot it from a Macbook

I have an .iso image of the full Fedora 16 install (Downloaded from http://fedoraproject.org/en/get-fedora-options#formats as "Fedora 16 DVD") and the question now is: How do I write it on a USB stick, so I can install it on my Mac book?

I tried using DD as the install guide said, and that gave me a USB stick which can boot from my PC. But it can't boot from the Mac (The Mac start menu don't show it as a boot option).

Edit: I downloaded a live install image, and did this (SSD is my USB 4GB thing)

/sbin/mkdosfs -F 32 -n usbdisk /dev/dev/sdd1

sudo livecd-iso-to-disk --format --reset-mbr --efi /tmp/download/Fedora-16-i686-Live-KDE.iso /dev/sdd1 

And this produced an image which can boot on my pc but not on my mac. This seems to indicate that the --efi is not working, because if it really was EFI it would not boot on a normal pc, would it?

I then tried this: (Difference being that I write the image directory to /dev/sdd instead of /dev/sdd1) but this still will not boot on the Mac (it newer shows up at the startup screen on the Mac).

sudo livecd-iso-to-disk --format --reset-mbr --efi /tmp/download/Fedora-

PS: My host Linux is Fedora 13.

added 779 characters in body
Source Link
MTilsted
  • 1.2k
  • 3
  • 18
  • 28

I have an .iso image of the full fedora 16 install (Downloaded from http://fedoraproject.org/en/get-fedora-options#formats as "Fedora 16 DVD") and the question now is: How do I write it on an usb stick, so I can install it on my Mac book?

I tried using dd as the install guide said, and that gave me an usb stick which can boot from My Pc. But it can't boot from the mac (The Mac start menu don't show it as a boot option).

Edit: I downloaded a live install image, and did this (sdd is my usb 4GB thing)

/sbin/mkdosfs -F 32 -n usbdisk /dev/dev/sdd1

sudo livecd-iso-to-disk --format --reset-mbr --efi /tmp/download/Fedora-16-i686-Live-KDE.iso /dev/sdd1 

And this produced an image which can boot on my pc but not on my mac. This seems to indicate that the --efi is not working, because if it really was efi it would not boot on a normal pc, would it?

I then tried this: (Difference beeing that I write the image directry to /dev/sdd instead of /dev/sdd1) but this still will not boot on the mac. (It newer shows up at the startup screen on the mac).

sudo livecd-iso-to-disk --format --reset-mbr --efi /tmp/download/Fedora-

ps: My host linux is Fedora 13.

I have an .iso image of the full fedora 16 install (Downloaded from http://fedoraproject.org/en/get-fedora-options#formats as "Fedora 16 DVD") and the question now is: How do I write it on an usb stick, so I can install it on my Mac book?

I tried using dd as the install guide said, and that gave me an usb stick which can boot from My Pc. But it can't boot from the mac (The Mac start menu don't show it as a boot option).

I have an .iso image of the full fedora 16 install (Downloaded from http://fedoraproject.org/en/get-fedora-options#formats as "Fedora 16 DVD") and the question now is: How do I write it on an usb stick, so I can install it on my Mac book?

I tried using dd as the install guide said, and that gave me an usb stick which can boot from My Pc. But it can't boot from the mac (The Mac start menu don't show it as a boot option).

Edit: I downloaded a live install image, and did this (sdd is my usb 4GB thing)

/sbin/mkdosfs -F 32 -n usbdisk /dev/dev/sdd1

sudo livecd-iso-to-disk --format --reset-mbr --efi /tmp/download/Fedora-16-i686-Live-KDE.iso /dev/sdd1 

And this produced an image which can boot on my pc but not on my mac. This seems to indicate that the --efi is not working, because if it really was efi it would not boot on a normal pc, would it?

I then tried this: (Difference beeing that I write the image directry to /dev/sdd instead of /dev/sdd1) but this still will not boot on the mac. (It newer shows up at the startup screen on the mac).

sudo livecd-iso-to-disk --format --reset-mbr --efi /tmp/download/Fedora-

ps: My host linux is Fedora 13.

Source Link
MTilsted
  • 1.2k
  • 3
  • 18
  • 28

Write Fedora.iso to isb and boot it from a macbook

I have an .iso image of the full fedora 16 install (Downloaded from http://fedoraproject.org/en/get-fedora-options#formats as "Fedora 16 DVD") and the question now is: How do I write it on an usb stick, so I can install it on my Mac book?

I tried using dd as the install guide said, and that gave me an usb stick which can boot from My Pc. But it can't boot from the mac (The Mac start menu don't show it as a boot option).