Skip to main content
added 83 characters in body
Source Link

I keep seeing pop up messages from different applications like Skype and Yorufukurou (a Twitter client) that look the same. My guess is these applications use the same mechanism for doing notifications. I wonder what this is called and how it works. I didn't install Growl. The OS I'm using is OS X Lion.

The pop ups appear in the right upper corner, white text on a black background.

I keep seeing pop up messages from different applications like Skype and Yorufukurou (a Twitter client) that look the same. My guess is these applications use the same mechanism for doing notifications. I wonder what this is called and how it works. I didn't install Growl. The OS I'm using is OS X Lion.

I keep seeing pop up messages from different applications like Skype and Yorufukurou (a Twitter client) that look the same. My guess is these applications use the same mechanism for doing notifications. I wonder what this is called and how it works. I didn't install Growl. The OS I'm using is OS X Lion.

The pop ups appear in the right upper corner, white text on a black background.

Source Link

Where are notifications coming from in OSX?

I keep seeing pop up messages from different applications like Skype and Yorufukurou (a Twitter client) that look the same. My guess is these applications use the same mechanism for doing notifications. I wonder what this is called and how it works. I didn't install Growl. The OS I'm using is OS X Lion.