Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1416729476495466507
Rewrite question to be more Windows version agnostic
Source Link
I say Reinstate Monica
  • 26.2k
  • 21
  • 98
  • 135

With Windows XP and Windows Vista,Sometimes when I try to remove an external USB hard drive, but usually I get the message ""Windows can't stop your 'Generic volume' device because a program is still using it.".:

Windows can't stop your 'Generic volume' device because a program is still using it.

I tried closing all programs on the desktopDesktop, but it still won't give the "safe to remove" message.

  I am generally able to make flash drives safe to remove without a problem.

How to safely remove a USB drive when I get this message?

I have Windows XP and Vista if that matters.

With Windows XP and Windows Vista, I try to remove an external USB hard drive, but usually get the message ""Windows can't stop your 'Generic volume' device because a program is still using it.". I tried closing all programs on the desktop, but it still won't give the "safe to remove" message.

  I am generally able to make flash drives safe to remove without a problem.

Sometimes when I try to remove an external USB hard drive I get the message:

Windows can't stop your 'Generic volume' device because a program is still using it.

I tried closing all programs on the Desktop, but it still won't give the "safe to remove" message. I am generally able to make flash drives safe to remove without a problem.

How to safely remove a USB drive when I get this message?

I have Windows XP and Vista if that matters.

added 11 characters in body
Source Link
Peter Mortensen
  • 12.2k
  • 23
  • 72
  • 90

With Windows XP and Windows Vista, I try to remove an external USB Hardhard drive, but usually get the message ""Windows can't stop your 'Generic volume' device because a program is still using it.". II tried closing all programs on the desktop, but it still won't give the "safe to remove" message.

I am generally able to make Flashflash drives safe to remove without a problem.

With XP and Vista, I try to remove an external USB Hard drive, but usually get the message ""Windows can't stop your 'Generic volume' device because a program is still using it.". I tried closing all programs on the desktop, but it still won't give the "safe to remove" message.

I am generally able to make Flash drives safe to remove without a problem.

With Windows XP and Windows Vista, I try to remove an external USB hard drive, but usually get the message ""Windows can't stop your 'Generic volume' device because a program is still using it.". I tried closing all programs on the desktop, but it still won't give the "safe to remove" message.

I am generally able to make flash drives safe to remove without a problem.

Source Link
Mike
  • 1.2k
  • 2
  • 11
  • 12

How to safely remove a USB drive when "Windows can't stop your 'Generic volume' device because a program is still using it."?

With XP and Vista, I try to remove an external USB Hard drive, but usually get the message ""Windows can't stop your 'Generic volume' device because a program is still using it.". I tried closing all programs on the desktop, but it still won't give the "safe to remove" message.

I am generally able to make Flash drives safe to remove without a problem.