Skip to main content
added 25 characters in body
Source Link

When I plug my laptop in to the original manufacturer's AC adapter, my laptop battery charges.

When I plug it into a knockoffcheap replacement (i.e. non-Dell) adapter, it stops using the battery, but will not charge.

Here's the details:

  • The laptop is a Dell XPS M1530.
  • I've verified that both the original and knockoff are specified for the same wattage (90 W AC), input (AC 100 - 240V, ~ 1.5 A, 50 - 60 HZ), and output (19.5 V, ~ 4.62 A).
  • I am using Windows Vista.

I did get a message about some sort of power issue when booting on the knockoff adapter, but unfortunately I dismissed it ("don't show this again") before I realized the battery wasn't charging and don't know how to get it back.

Any ideas? Do I just write it off as a lesson in not buying non-manufacturer AC adapters?

When I plug my laptop in to the original manufacturer's AC adapter, my laptop battery charges.

When I plug it into a knockoff adapter, it stops using the battery, but will not charge.

Here's the details:

  • The laptop is a Dell XPS M1530.
  • I've verified that both the original and knockoff are specified for the same wattage (90 W AC), input (AC 100 - 240V, ~ 1.5 A, 50 - 60 HZ), and output (19.5 V, ~ 4.62 A).
  • I am using Windows Vista.

I did get a message about some sort of power issue when booting on the knockoff adapter, but unfortunately I dismissed it ("don't show this again") before I realized the battery wasn't charging and don't know how to get it back.

Any ideas? Do I just write it off as a lesson in not buying non-manufacturer AC adapters?

When I plug my laptop in to the original manufacturer's AC adapter, my laptop battery charges.

When I plug it into a cheap replacement (i.e. non-Dell) adapter, it stops using the battery, but will not charge.

Here's the details:

  • The laptop is a Dell XPS M1530.
  • I've verified that both the original and knockoff are specified for the same wattage (90 W AC), input (AC 100 - 240V, ~ 1.5 A, 50 - 60 HZ), and output (19.5 V, ~ 4.62 A).
  • I am using Windows Vista.

I did get a message about some sort of power issue when booting on the knockoff adapter, but unfortunately I dismissed it ("don't show this again") before I realized the battery wasn't charging and don't know how to get it back.

Any ideas? Do I just write it off as a lesson in not buying non-manufacturer AC adapters?

Source Link

Why won't my battery charge when plugged into a knockoff AC adapter?

When I plug my laptop in to the original manufacturer's AC adapter, my laptop battery charges.

When I plug it into a knockoff adapter, it stops using the battery, but will not charge.

Here's the details:

  • The laptop is a Dell XPS M1530.
  • I've verified that both the original and knockoff are specified for the same wattage (90 W AC), input (AC 100 - 240V, ~ 1.5 A, 50 - 60 HZ), and output (19.5 V, ~ 4.62 A).
  • I am using Windows Vista.

I did get a message about some sort of power issue when booting on the knockoff adapter, but unfortunately I dismissed it ("don't show this again") before I realized the battery wasn't charging and don't know how to get it back.

Any ideas? Do I just write it off as a lesson in not buying non-manufacturer AC adapters?