Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

11
  • 2
    "move to new instance" is greyed out.. (also i'd rather not have to do that for every individual one but for all). also, if I try dragging a tab out e.g. onto the desktop, I click hold move the mouse, i get the changed mouse cursor, but then I release the mouse button and the tab is still there. split screen isn't what i'm looking for unless you can fit 20 tabs in there (pref) automatically
    – barlop
    Commented Nov 18, 2011 at 20:44
  • I have multiple tabs set to autosave with default names of new 1, new 2 e.t.c.
    – barlop
    Commented Nov 18, 2011 at 20:50
  • 1
    The only way I can replicate this is if you haven't yet saved the file. Try saving it first?
    – Garrett
    Commented Nov 18, 2011 at 20:50
  • they are set to autosave. You can replicate it if you download the autosave plugin for notepad++ so they save automatically.
    – barlop
    Commented Nov 18, 2011 at 20:54
  • the reason i'm using notepad++ like this is because Saving takes a while 'cos gotta save each file to the correct location, and so I leave that.. sometimes for exampel with notepad I might seee look these 3 files are for this directory, and I can see them all simultaneously, and i'll do file.saveas/ctrl-s) and then paste the DIR in.But still problem with regular notepad is if I don't save and it crashes,I lose it all and it has no autosave optionSo typing into untitled and i'm screwed when it crashes.With notepad++ I have autosave m just create files and write them wthout worryin abouta crash
    – barlop
    Commented Nov 18, 2011 at 20:58