Skip to main content
deleted 26 characters in body; edited tags; edited title
Source Link
Tamara Wijsman
  • 57.5k
  • 28
  • 188
  • 256

how How do I reduce the disk consumption of windows?

On my XP box, my C:\C:\ is running low on space, and after a massive amount of updates, my c:\windowsWindows directory is consuming 10GB10 GB of storage - of that:

* 4GB is in the Installer subdirectory or children
* 1.6 GB is in the SoftwareDistribution directory
* 1.1 GB is in the System32 directory

What are my options for paring down some of the cruft that seems to be on here.

  • 4 GB is in the Installer subdirectory or children
  • 1.6 GB is in the SoftwareDistribution directory
  • 1.1 GB is in the System32 directory

What are my options for paring down some of the cruft that seems to be on here.

Note, this is a dev laptop, so a lot of stuff is on here already (SQL2K: SQL2K, SQL2k5, VS2005, Office2007, etc.) -.. I'd rather not have to reinstall Windows (just cause it will probably get the patches back anyways.

Thanks, Eli).

how do I reduce the disk consumption of windows?

On my XP box, my C:\ is running low on space, and after a massive amount of updates, my c:\windows directory is consuming 10GB of storage - of that:

* 4GB is in the Installer subdirectory or children
* 1.6 GB is in the SoftwareDistribution directory
* 1.1 GB is in the System32 directory

What are my options for paring down some of the cruft that seems to be on here.

Note, this is a dev laptop, so a lot of stuff is on here already (SQL2K, SQL2k5, VS2005, Office2007, etc.) - I'd rather not have to reinstall Windows (just cause it will probably get the patches back anyways.

Thanks, Eli.

How do I reduce the disk consumption of windows?

On my XP box, my C:\ is running low on space, and after a massive amount of updates, my Windows directory is consuming 10 GB of storage - of that:

  • 4 GB is in the Installer subdirectory or children
  • 1.6 GB is in the SoftwareDistribution directory
  • 1.1 GB is in the System32 directory

What are my options for paring down some of the cruft that seems to be on here.

Note, this is a dev laptop, so a lot of stuff is on here already: SQL2K, SQL2k5, VS2005, Office2007, etc... I'd rather not have to reinstall Windows (just cause it will probably get the patches back anyways).

edited tags
Link
quack quixote
  • 42.9k
  • 14
  • 108
  • 130
Post Migrated Here from serverfault.com (revisions)
Source Link
Eli
Eli
Loading