Skip to main content
Notice removed Draw attention by CommunityBot
Bounty Ended with no winning answer by CommunityBot
Notice added Draw attention by Daniel Gratz
Bounty Started worth 50 reputation by Daniel Gratz
added 27 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
slhck
  • 230.2k
  • 71
  • 621
  • 603

Will 1mb upload cap hamper vpna slow upload rate have a negative impact on VPN usage?

Will my slow upload speed (1mb1MBit cap on my fiber line) significantly reduce the performance of my connection over a vpn VPN? I'm in mainland China and am considering getting a vps VPS server in hong kongHong Kong running openvpn OpenVPN. Here's my speedtest to hong kong Hong Kong from where iI live:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1564317760.pngenter image description here

And ping from the vps VPS provider back to my ip IP address is average 33ms on average.

So, latency seems nice, download is nice obviously nice, but upload is terrible. To what degree does having a slow upload effect the speed of a vpn a VPN? Will my download over the vpnVPN be max 1mb1MBit? Or will performance (web browsing, streaming movies etc) be no different than without the vpnVPN? Thanks.

Will 1mb upload cap hamper vpn usage?

Will my slow upload speed (1mb cap on my fiber line) significantly reduce the performance of my connection over a vpn? I'm in mainland China and am considering getting a vps server in hong kong running openvpn. Here's my speedtest to hong kong from where i live:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1564317760.png

And ping from the vps provider back to my ip address is average 33ms.

So latency seems nice, download is nice obviously but upload is terrible. To what degree does having a slow upload effect the speed of a vpn? Will my download over the vpn be max 1mb? Or will performance (web browsing, streaming movies etc) be no different than without the vpn? Thanks.

Will a slow upload rate have a negative impact on VPN usage?

Will my slow upload speed (1MBit cap on my fiber line) significantly reduce the performance of my connection over a VPN? I'm in mainland China and am considering getting a VPS server in Hong Kong running OpenVPN. Here's my speedtest to Hong Kong from where I live:

enter image description here

And ping from the VPS provider back to my IP address is 33ms on average.

So, latency seems nice, download is obviously nice, but upload is terrible. To what degree does having a slow upload effect the speed of a VPN? Will my download over the VPN be max 1MBit? Or will performance (web browsing, streaming movies etc) be no different than without the VPN?

Source Link
Daniel Gratz
  • 601
  • 4
  • 13
  • 19

Will 1mb upload cap hamper vpn usage?

Will my slow upload speed (1mb cap on my fiber line) significantly reduce the performance of my connection over a vpn? I'm in mainland China and am considering getting a vps server in hong kong running openvpn. Here's my speedtest to hong kong from where i live:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1564317760.png

And ping from the vps provider back to my ip address is average 33ms.

So latency seems nice, download is nice obviously but upload is terrible. To what degree does having a slow upload effect the speed of a vpn? Will my download over the vpn be max 1mb? Or will performance (web browsing, streaming movies etc) be no different than without the vpn? Thanks.