Skip to main content
deleted 6 characters in body; edited tags; edited title
Source Link
Sathyajith Bhat
  • 61.9k
  • 38
  • 181
  • 265

new New dyndns server at home needs more security

I have just setup an ubuntuUbuntu web server to use at home as a backup and development server for a website iI have. I am using dyndns so my colleges can access this also and test new code.

This works well but imI'm worried about security. This has only been open to the world for 24 hours and already had hack attempts from 4 different ipIP addresses. (korea and hong kong)

  • hack attempts being trying to login over ssh with usernames such as root, oracle, smbuser

How can iI secure this server more so iI can feel at ease?

FYI, the data is not highly confidential so not the end of the world if anyone gets in, but obviously don't want people playing around with it.

Update, iI did add my public ssh key to the server to login but after a restart went back to normal

Thanks

new dyndns server at home needs more security

I have just setup an ubuntu web server to use at home as a backup and development server for a website i have. I am using dyndns so my colleges can access this also and test new code.

This works well but im worried about security. This has only been open to the world for 24 hours and already had hack attempts from 4 different ip addresses. (korea and hong kong)

  • hack attempts being trying to login over ssh with usernames such as root, oracle, smbuser

How can i secure this server more so i can feel at ease?

FYI, the data is not highly confidential so not the end of the world if anyone gets in, but obviously don't want people playing around with it.

Update, i did add my public ssh key to the server to login but after a restart went back to normal

Thanks

New dyndns server at home needs more security

I have just setup an Ubuntu web server to use at home as a backup and development server for a website I have. I am using dyndns so my colleges can access this also and test new code.

This works well but I'm worried about security. This has only been open to the world for 24 hours and already had hack attempts from 4 different IP addresses. (korea and hong kong)

  • hack attempts being trying to login over ssh with usernames such as root, oracle, smbuser

How can I secure this server more so I can feel at ease?

FYI, the data is not highly confidential so not the end of the world if anyone gets in, but obviously don't want people playing around with it.

Update, I did add my public ssh key to the server to login but after a restart went back to normal

Post Migrated Here from serverfault.com (revisions)
Source Link
lee
lee

new dyndns server at home needs more security

I have just setup an ubuntu web server to use at home as a backup and development server for a website i have. I am using dyndns so my colleges can access this also and test new code.

This works well but im worried about security. This has only been open to the world for 24 hours and already had hack attempts from 4 different ip addresses. (korea and hong kong)

  • hack attempts being trying to login over ssh with usernames such as root, oracle, smbuser

How can i secure this server more so i can feel at ease?

FYI, the data is not highly confidential so not the end of the world if anyone gets in, but obviously don't want people playing around with it.

Update, i did add my public ssh key to the server to login but after a restart went back to normal

Thanks