Skip to main content
9 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Feb 27, 2017 at 17:06 comment added Brane I realise this answer is 6 years old but it's still, or especially now quite relevant. @hamstergene can you elaborate on how you managed to remove other input methods / keyboard layouts from your system? When I tried that, my keyboard stopped working in some programs altogether (even after a restart).
Apr 28, 2014 at 11:27 comment added Jules @ADTC - Chrome uses multiple threads & processes, but it keeps all of its windows as belonging to the same thread, then has the other threads send messages to that thread to tell it to update the window whenever they change. You can see this in the Chrome task manager as "Browser".
Mar 30, 2014 at 12:08 history bounty ended Evgeni Sergeev
Mar 29, 2014 at 7:22 comment added Evgeni Sergeev Another very useful symbol for e.g. rightAlt+0, is the degree symbol, °.
Mar 29, 2014 at 7:19 comment added Evgeni Sergeev @mathijsuitmegen I've set it up this way, and for me things like Ctrl+C, Ctrl+V work as expected in all the applications that I've tried, whether CapsLock is ON or not. (Unfortunately, though, Inkscape doesn't accept Russian input directly, it might be guessing for us that CapsLock ON is equivalent to Shift down, which it's not, with this setup.) I've checked on Windows7 and Vista.
Mar 5, 2013 at 11:23 comment added Tass This drives me nuts. I think it's per process, not per thread. Windows 8 has an option to set it system-wide which is great, though that's not a solution for everyone...
Apr 20, 2012 at 13:02 comment added mathijsuitmegen Unfortunately Microsoft Keyboard Layout Creator does not support the option 'ctrl + SGCAP + <Key>'. I work with a Dvorak layout and I couldn't get shortcuts like 'ctrl + S' (save) to work while caps lock is on.
Mar 28, 2012 at 23:46 comment added ADTC "Windows maintains different input language for each thread." < The thing I don't understand is this: Google Chrome uses multiple threads YET a change in keyboard layout/language applies to the entire browser - not each tab/thread separately. I can't for the life of me understand why Microsoft didn't do the same with Internet Explorer when they went multi-threading in IE. One guy working at MS even justified this odd behavior as "the correct way an application should behave" WTF! (Apologies for the rant.)
Sep 27, 2011 at 15:46 history answered hamstergene CC BY-SA 3.0