Skip to main content
Replaced dead link with an archive.org copy
Source Link
gronostaj
  • 57.5k
  • 21
  • 128
  • 185

I found the following solution for my environment:

  • first adapter with internal network to access the other VM-
  • second adapter with NAT to access the internet.

Those settings can be done by the GUI Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager. Initially I had the same problem as Jonas, I missed DHCP. Finally I found this article (archived copy, this articleoriginal link is dead) and I used:

VBoxManage dhcpserver add --netname intnet --ip 10.13.13.100 --netmask 255.255.255.0 --lowerip 10.13.13.101 --upperip 10.13.13.254 --enable

from the command line. Afterwards it worked fine.

I dare say that the manual is a poor resource, as most of the configuration of VirtualBox on a Windows host can be done by the GUI and it is a severe inconvenience that one can't configure DHCP with the GUI.

My environment: I'm running portable VirtualBox 4.1.2r73507 on Windows 7 64 bit. Currently host-only and bridged mode not working, because host-only adapter is missing. I have a problem similar to that described in a german question on Virtual Box forum, I have no host only adapter.

I found the following solution for my environment:

  • first adapter with internal network to access the other VM-
  • second adapter with NAT to access the internet.

Those settings can be done by the GUI Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager. Initially I had the same problem as Jonas, I missed DHCP. Finally I found this article and I used:

VBoxManage dhcpserver add --netname intnet --ip 10.13.13.100 --netmask 255.255.255.0 --lowerip 10.13.13.101 --upperip 10.13.13.254 --enable

from the command line. Afterwards it worked fine.

I dare say that the manual is a poor resource, as most of the configuration of VirtualBox on a Windows host can be done by the GUI and it is a severe inconvenience that one can't configure DHCP with the GUI.

My environment: I'm running portable VirtualBox 4.1.2r73507 on Windows 7 64 bit. Currently host-only and bridged mode not working, because host-only adapter is missing. I have a problem similar to that described in a german question on Virtual Box forum, I have no host only adapter.

I found the following solution for my environment:

  • first adapter with internal network to access the other VM-
  • second adapter with NAT to access the internet.

Those settings can be done by the GUI Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager. Initially I had the same problem as Jonas, I missed DHCP. Finally I found this article (archived copy, original link is dead) and I used:

VBoxManage dhcpserver add --netname intnet --ip 10.13.13.100 --netmask 255.255.255.0 --lowerip 10.13.13.101 --upperip 10.13.13.254 --enable

from the command line. Afterwards it worked fine.

I dare say that the manual is a poor resource, as most of the configuration of VirtualBox on a Windows host can be done by the GUI and it is a severe inconvenience that one can't configure DHCP with the GUI.

My environment: I'm running portable VirtualBox 4.1.2r73507 on Windows 7 64 bit. Currently host-only and bridged mode not working, because host-only adapter is missing. I have a problem similar to that described in a german question on Virtual Box forum, I have no host only adapter.

I found the following solution for my environment:

  • first adapter with internal network to access the other VM-
  • second adapter with NAT to access the internet.

Those settings can be done by the GUI Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager. Initially I had the same problem as Jonas, I missed DHCP. Finally I found this articelarticle and I used:

VBoxManage dhcpserver add --netname intnet --ip 10.13.13.100 --netmask 255.255.255.0 --lowerip 10.13.13.101 --upperip 10.13.13.254 --enable

from the command line. Afterwards it worked fine.

I dare say that themanualthe manual is a poor resource, as most of the configuration of VirtualBox on a Windows host can be done by the GUI and it is a severe inconvenience that one can't configure DHCP with the GUI.

My environment: I'm running portable VirtualBox 4.1.2r73507 on Windows 7 64 bit. Currently host-only and bridged mode not working, because host-only adapter is missing. I have a problem similar to that described in a german question on Virtual Box forum, I have no host only adapter.

I found the following solution for my environment:

  • first adapter with internal network to access the other VM-
  • second adapter with NAT to access the internet.

Those settings can be done by the GUI Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager. Initially I had the same problem as Jonas, I missed DHCP. Finally I found this articel and I used

VBoxManage dhcpserver add --netname intnet --ip 10.13.13.100 --netmask 255.255.255.0 --lowerip 10.13.13.101 --upperip 10.13.13.254 --enable

from the command line. Afterwards it worked fine.

I dare say that themanual is a poor resource, as most of the configuration of VirtualBox on a Windows host can be done by the GUI and it is a severe inconvenience that one can't configure DHCP with the GUI.

My environment: I'm running portable VirtualBox 4.1.2r73507 on Windows 7 64 bit. Currently host-only and bridged mode not working, because host-only adapter is missing. I have a problem similar to that described in a german question on Virtual Box forum, I have no host only adapter.

I found the following solution for my environment:

  • first adapter with internal network to access the other VM-
  • second adapter with NAT to access the internet.

Those settings can be done by the GUI Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager. Initially I had the same problem as Jonas, I missed DHCP. Finally I found this article and I used:

VBoxManage dhcpserver add --netname intnet --ip 10.13.13.100 --netmask 255.255.255.0 --lowerip 10.13.13.101 --upperip 10.13.13.254 --enable

from the command line. Afterwards it worked fine.

I dare say that the manual is a poor resource, as most of the configuration of VirtualBox on a Windows host can be done by the GUI and it is a severe inconvenience that one can't configure DHCP with the GUI.

My environment: I'm running portable VirtualBox 4.1.2r73507 on Windows 7 64 bit. Currently host-only and bridged mode not working, because host-only adapter is missing. I have a problem similar to that described in a german question on Virtual Box forum, I have no host only adapter.

added 185 characters in body
Source Link
bernd_k
  • 1.2k
  • 3
  • 17
  • 27

I found the following solution for my environment:

  • first adapter with internal network to access the other VM-
  • second adapter with NAT to access the internet.

Those settings can be done by the GUI Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager. Initially I had the same problem as Jonas, I missed DHCP. Finally I found this articel and I used

VBoxManage dhcpserver add --netname intnet --ip 10.13.13.100 --netmask 255.255.255.0 --lowerip 10.13.13.101 --upperip 10.13.13.254 --enable

from the command line. Afterwards it worked fine.

I dare say that themanual is a poor resource, as most of the configuration of VirtualBox on a Windows host can be done by the GUI and it is a severe inconvenience that one can't configure DHCP with the GUI.

My environment: I'm running portable VirtualBox 4.1.2r73507 on Windows 7 64 bit. Currently host-only and bridged mode not working, because host-only adapter is missing. I have a problem similar to that described in a german question on Virtual Box forum, I have no host only adapter.

I found the following solution for my environment:

  • first adapter with internal network to access the other VM-
  • second adapter with NAT to access the internet.

Those settings can be done by the GUI Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager. Initially I had the same problem as Jonas, I missed DHCP. Finally I found this articel and I used

VBoxManage dhcpserver add --netname intnet --ip 10.13.13.100 --netmask 255.255.255.0 --lowerip 10.13.13.101 --upperip 10.13.13.254 --enable

from the command line. Afterwards it worked fine.

I dare say that themanual is a poor resource, as most of the configuration of VirtualBox on a Windows host can be done by the GUI and it is a severe inconvenience that one can't configure DHCP with the GUI.

My environment: I'm running portable VirtualBox 4.1.2r73507 on Windows 7 64 bit. Currently host-only and bridged mode not working, because host-only adapter is missing.

I found the following solution for my environment:

  • first adapter with internal network to access the other VM-
  • second adapter with NAT to access the internet.

Those settings can be done by the GUI Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager. Initially I had the same problem as Jonas, I missed DHCP. Finally I found this articel and I used

VBoxManage dhcpserver add --netname intnet --ip 10.13.13.100 --netmask 255.255.255.0 --lowerip 10.13.13.101 --upperip 10.13.13.254 --enable

from the command line. Afterwards it worked fine.

I dare say that themanual is a poor resource, as most of the configuration of VirtualBox on a Windows host can be done by the GUI and it is a severe inconvenience that one can't configure DHCP with the GUI.

My environment: I'm running portable VirtualBox 4.1.2r73507 on Windows 7 64 bit. Currently host-only and bridged mode not working, because host-only adapter is missing. I have a problem similar to that described in a german question on Virtual Box forum, I have no host only adapter.

Source Link
bernd_k
  • 1.2k
  • 3
  • 17
  • 27
Loading