Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • Thanks, That's pretty much what I'm expecting. At 500MB/s per lane I don't see how 4 Hard Drives could saturate the bandwidth. My only hangup was that upon contacting LSI, they insisted that x8 was required and I should get a new motherboard. Commented Sep 10, 2011 at 10:39
  • As I mentioned, my answer is based on theory and it may possibly be that if they don't fully support the standard then the card may not work with less lanes, but I would be surprised if that were the case.
    – Mokubai
    Commented Sep 10, 2011 at 10:42
  • I'm ordering the part and will report back when it does or doesn't work. Thanks for the information! Commented Sep 14, 2011 at 16:01
  • @Howard - did it work OK? Commented Dec 8, 2012 at 17:29
  • @JustinGrant This was a while back, I don't know why but I did not order the part. There's a new submission in Steve S. actually tried this and succeeded. I realize this is a necro post but hopefully it's useful to someone in the future. Commented Nov 2, 2014 at 16:06