Skip to main content
6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Aug 4, 2014 at 18:05 comment added user If you're going to buy a surge protector, look up reputable reviews done by those that actually test the surge suppression capability. While I probably wouldn't pick the cheapest one off the shelf, higher price does not necessarily mean it better at surge suppression than a cheaper one.
Aug 31, 2009 at 13:21 history edited vava CC BY-SA 2.5
additional thoughts
Aug 31, 2009 at 13:04 comment added vava I also live in Sydney and I don't use any surge protector :) If you are really afraid, just unplug you computer from the wall socket and from the network cable during bad weather. I don't think you computer will be damaged before it gets outdated anyway.
Aug 31, 2009 at 12:51 comment added andrew I live in Sydney, AUS... Also does it matter how much you spend on a surge protector? they vary so much in price!
Aug 31, 2009 at 12:43 comment added Kirill Strizhak I disagree with that 'rare occasion' part :] It depends on where you live, I guess. That happens with some of my friends each 1-2 years. I tell them to buy UPS all the time, but they think it's too expensive... Yeah, right - a fried MoBo or dead HDD is way better...
Aug 31, 2009 at 11:34 history answered vava CC BY-SA 2.5