Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • I disagree with that 'rare occasion' part :] It depends on where you live, I guess. That happens with some of my friends each 1-2 years. I tell them to buy UPS all the time, but they think it's too expensive... Yeah, right - a fried MoBo or dead HDD is way better... Commented Aug 31, 2009 at 12:43
  • I live in Sydney, AUS... Also does it matter how much you spend on a surge protector? they vary so much in price!
    – andrew
    Commented Aug 31, 2009 at 12:51
  • I also live in Sydney and I don't use any surge protector :) If you are really afraid, just unplug you computer from the wall socket and from the network cable during bad weather. I don't think you computer will be damaged before it gets outdated anyway.
    – vava
    Commented Aug 31, 2009 at 13:04
  • If you're going to buy a surge protector, look up reputable reviews done by those that actually test the surge suppression capability. While I probably wouldn't pick the cheapest one off the shelf, higher price does not necessarily mean it better at surge suppression than a cheaper one.
    – user
    Commented Aug 4, 2014 at 18:05