Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

Possible Duplicate:
Can a power failure or forceful shutdown damage hardware?Can a power failure or forceful shutdown damage hardware?

If I switch off my computer pressing the power button for five (5) seconds, can I break any of the components, damage it or make it work worse?

At first, I thought switching off my computer from the power button and from the power cord would be the same. My case was with the power cord, though.

Possible Duplicate:
Can a power failure or forceful shutdown damage hardware?

If I switch off my computer pressing the power button for five (5) seconds, can I break any of the components, damage it or make it work worse?

At first, I thought switching off my computer from the power button and from the power cord would be the same. My case was with the power cord, though.

Possible Duplicate:
Can a power failure or forceful shutdown damage hardware?

If I switch off my computer pressing the power button for five (5) seconds, can I break any of the components, damage it or make it work worse?

At first, I thought switching off my computer from the power button and from the power cord would be the same. My case was with the power cord, though.

Post Locked by random
Post Merged (source) to superuser.com/questions/103861/…
insert duplicate link
Source Link

Possible Duplicate:
Can a power failure or forceful shutdown damage hardware?

If I switch off my computer pressing the power button for five (5) seconds, can I break any of the components, damage it or make it work worse?

At first, I thought switching off my computer from the power button and from the power cord would be the same. My case was with the power cord, though.

If I switch off my computer pressing the power button for five (5) seconds, can I break any of the components, damage it or make it work worse?

At first, I thought switching off my computer from the power button and from the power cord would be the same. My case was with the power cord, though.

Possible Duplicate:
Can a power failure or forceful shutdown damage hardware?

If I switch off my computer pressing the power button for five (5) seconds, can I break any of the components, damage it or make it work worse?

At first, I thought switching off my computer from the power button and from the power cord would be the same. My case was with the power cord, though.

Post Closed as "exact duplicate" by random
it goes on and on and on (keep the questions to one)
Source Link
random
  • 15.1k
  • 9
  • 55
  • 58

Is a 'hard shutdown'hard shutdown harmful to computer hardware?

If I switch off my computer pressing the power button for 5five (5) seconds, can I break any of the components, damage it or make it work worse?

EDIT: Thank you for all the answers, guys :). At first, I thought switching off my computer from the power button and fromfrom the power cord would be the same. My case was with the power cord, though.

Here my last question, If you dont mind: If surges or spikes were introduced in my computer, how could I know that? Does always break instantanely in that case, or it can affect the computer later? Its just my warranty. Its a Lenovo Thinkpad, which its not cheap, and in that case I would go to have a look to it. Then, pulling the power cord and closing the computer without providing electricity (some plugs can be closed from a switch) has the same effect, right?

Thank you guys! Apologizes for my ignorance.

Is a 'hard shutdown' harmful to computer hardware?

If I switch off my computer pressing the power button for 5 seconds, can I break any of the components or make it work worse?

EDIT: Thank you for all the answers, guys :). At first, I thought switching off my computer from the power button and from the power cord would be the same. My case was with the power cord, though.

Here my last question, If you dont mind: If surges or spikes were introduced in my computer, how could I know that? Does always break instantanely in that case, or it can affect the computer later? Its just my warranty. Its a Lenovo Thinkpad, which its not cheap, and in that case I would go to have a look to it. Then, pulling the power cord and closing the computer without providing electricity (some plugs can be closed from a switch) has the same effect, right?

Thank you guys! Apologizes for my ignorance.

Is a hard shutdown harmful to computer hardware?

If I switch off my computer pressing the power button for five (5) seconds, can I break any of the components, damage it or make it work worse?

At first, I thought switching off my computer from the power button and from the power cord would be the same. My case was with the power cord, though.

Post Merged (destination) from superuser.com/questions/349763/…
Changed title to be more precise. Added tag
Link
James Mertz
  • 26.4k
  • 41
  • 111
  • 163
Loading
added 722 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackSuper_User/status/106205919397945344
corrected spelling, removed thanks!
Source Link
Journeyman Geek
  • 130.3k
  • 52
  • 272
  • 443
Loading
Source Link
Loading