Skip to main content
deleted 38 characters in body
Source Link
Gareth
  • 18.9k
  • 15
  • 58
  • 69

My PSU started doingmaking some noises even when the fans were stopped an. I also had usbUSB problems (2 usbtwo USB devices burned) so I checked the PSU voltages with a multimeter.

I removed the PSU and just connectconnected it to a fan to see if it was on. I connected the green wire to a black wire and tested the voltages of the color cables on my 20 rails cable.

I noticed that my yellow (12v12V) rail was only showing 11.07v07V. TestedTesting on the other yellow cables and alwayshad the same thingresult.

As this is bigger than the 5% margin of error I thought that I had a faulty PSU.

ButHowever after, I connected connecting the PSU to the motherboard and, the values went up and my 12v12V rail went to 11.95.

Am I doing something wrong here? Should I always test the PSU when it is connected to the PC?

Thanks in advance.

My PSU started doing some noises even when the fans were stopped an I had usb problems (2 usb devices burned) so I checked the PSU voltages with a multimeter.

I removed the PSU and just connect it to a fan to see if it was on. I connected the green wire to a black wire and tested the voltages of the color cables on my 20 rails cable.

I noticed that my yellow (12v) rail was only showing 11.07v. Tested on the other yellow cables and always the same thing.

As this is bigger than the 5% margin of error I thought that I had a faulty PSU.

But after, I connected the PSU to the motherboard and the values went up and my 12v rail went to 11.95.

Am I doing something wrong here? Should I always test the PSU when it is connected to the PC?

Thanks in advance.

My PSU started making some noises even when the fans were stopped. I also had USB problems (two USB devices burned) so I checked the PSU voltages with a multimeter.

I removed the PSU and connected it to a fan to see if it was on. I connected the green wire to a black wire and tested the voltages of the color cables on my 20 rails cable.

I noticed that my yellow (12V) rail was only showing 11.07V. Testing on the other yellow cables had the same result.

As this is bigger than the 5% margin of error I thought that I had a faulty PSU.

However after connecting the PSU to the motherboard, the values went up and my 12V rail went to 11.95.

Am I doing something wrong? Should I always test the PSU when it is connected to the PC?

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackSuper_User/status/102444958946045952
Source Link
Artur Carvalho
  • 1.6k
  • 2
  • 20
  • 27

PSU voltage with multimeter

My PSU started doing some noises even when the fans were stopped an I had usb problems (2 usb devices burned) so I checked the PSU voltages with a multimeter.

I removed the PSU and just connect it to a fan to see if it was on. I connected the green wire to a black wire and tested the voltages of the color cables on my 20 rails cable.

I noticed that my yellow (12v) rail was only showing 11.07v. Tested on the other yellow cables and always the same thing.

As this is bigger than the 5% margin of error I thought that I had a faulty PSU.

But after, I connected the PSU to the motherboard and the values went up and my 12v rail went to 11.95.

Am I doing something wrong here? Should I always test the PSU when it is connected to the PC?

Thanks in advance.