Skip to main content
added 102 characters in body
Source Link
hookenz
  • 4.1k
  • 3
  • 33
  • 46

I'm looking at getting a Synology DS211 for home office use.

After reading about drive compatibility on their website I have several options available with regards to drive.

I'm leaning towards WD drives at the moment. But then I read a comment at the top of the drive compatibility list to always choose the correct drive for your needs with further comments about RAID.

So my question - Is it necessary or recommended to install a RAID spec drive into a synology NAS that I intend to put into RAID 1? What issues could I encounter if I don't, as I think most home market nas' use software RAID I think... does software raid handle things differently?

Differences between raid and desktop drives. http://wdc.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1397

Cheers.

I'm looking at getting a Synology DS211 for home office use.

After reading about drive compatibility on their website I have several options available with regards to drive.

I'm leaning towards WD drives at the moment. But then I read a comment at the top of the drive compatibility list to always choose the correct drive for your needs with further comments about RAID.

So my question - Is it necessary or recommended to install a RAID spec drive into a synology NAS that I intend to put into RAID 1? What issues could I encounter if I don't, as I think most home market nas' use software RAID I think... does software raid handle things differently?

Cheers.

I'm looking at getting a Synology DS211 for home office use.

After reading about drive compatibility on their website I have several options available with regards to drive.

I'm leaning towards WD drives at the moment. But then I read a comment at the top of the drive compatibility list to always choose the correct drive for your needs with further comments about RAID.

So my question - Is it necessary or recommended to install a RAID spec drive into a synology NAS that I intend to put into RAID 1? What issues could I encounter if I don't, as I think most home market nas' use software RAID I think... does software raid handle things differently?

Differences between raid and desktop drives. http://wdc.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1397

Cheers.

Post Migrated Here from serverfault.com (revisions)
Source Link
hookenz
  • 4.1k
  • 3
  • 33
  • 46

Should I install RAID spec drives in a home NAS with RAID 1?

I'm looking at getting a Synology DS211 for home office use.

After reading about drive compatibility on their website I have several options available with regards to drive.

I'm leaning towards WD drives at the moment. But then I read a comment at the top of the drive compatibility list to always choose the correct drive for your needs with further comments about RAID.

So my question - Is it necessary or recommended to install a RAID spec drive into a synology NAS that I intend to put into RAID 1? What issues could I encounter if I don't, as I think most home market nas' use software RAID I think... does software raid handle things differently?

Cheers.