Skip to main content
capitalization and paragraphs for readability
Source Link
slhck
  • 230.2k
  • 71
  • 621
  • 603

Intel ich10rICH10R vs Marvell 9123 for desktop RAID 1 with SSDSSDs

I have a desktop with an ASUS motherboard with 6 sata ports; 4x3gbps ich10r ports and 2x6gbps Marvell 9123SATA ports. I

  • 4x3Gbps ICH10R ports
  • 2x6Gbps Marvell 9123 ports

I bought 2 3gbpstwo 3Gbps Intel SSD drives to be used in a RAID 1 configuration (reliability is of primary concern). My

My question is whether to connect them to the 6gbps6Gbps ports or the 3gbps3Gbps ports?

Even though the drives are only 3gbps3Gbps, I thought I'd use the Marvell 6gbps63Gbps ports.. figuredFigured it was newer technology so probably better. But then I read (an old article) that the ich10rICH10R controller can be much faster. So now I'm not sure. How interchangeable are the drives on each controller if something goes bad? What are the other issues? Is one controller more reliable than the other?

Intel ich10r vs Marvell 9123 for desktop RAID 1 with SSD

I have a desktop with an ASUS motherboard with 6 sata ports; 4x3gbps ich10r ports and 2x6gbps Marvell 9123 ports. I bought 2 3gbps Intel SSD drives to be used in a RAID 1 configuration (reliability is of primary concern). My question is whether to connect them to the 6gbps ports or the 3gbps ports?

Even though the drives are only 3gbps, I thought I'd use the Marvell 6gbps ports.. figured it was newer technology so probably better. But then I read (an old article) that the ich10r controller can be much faster. So now I'm not sure. How interchangeable are the drives on each controller if something goes bad? What are the other issues? Is one controller more reliable than the other?

Intel ICH10R vs Marvell 9123 for desktop RAID 1 with SSDs

I have a desktop with an ASUS motherboard with 6 SATA ports.

  • 4x3Gbps ICH10R ports
  • 2x6Gbps Marvell 9123 ports

I bought two 3Gbps Intel SSD drives to be used in a RAID 1 configuration (reliability is of primary concern).

My question is whether to connect them to the 6Gbps ports or the 3Gbps ports?

Even though the drives are only 3Gbps, I thought I'd use the Marvell 63Gbps ports. Figured it was newer technology so probably better. But then I read (an old article) that the ICH10R controller can be much faster. So now I'm not sure. How interchangeable are the drives on each controller if something goes bad? What are the other issues? Is one controller more reliable than the other?

Source Link
at01
  • 279
  • 4
  • 13

Intel ich10r vs Marvell 9123 for desktop RAID 1 with SSD

I have a desktop with an ASUS motherboard with 6 sata ports; 4x3gbps ich10r ports and 2x6gbps Marvell 9123 ports. I bought 2 3gbps Intel SSD drives to be used in a RAID 1 configuration (reliability is of primary concern). My question is whether to connect them to the 6gbps ports or the 3gbps ports?

Even though the drives are only 3gbps, I thought I'd use the Marvell 6gbps ports.. figured it was newer technology so probably better. But then I read (an old article) that the ich10r controller can be much faster. So now I'm not sure. How interchangeable are the drives on each controller if something goes bad? What are the other issues? Is one controller more reliable than the other?