Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
deleted 69 characters in body
Source Link
studiohack
  • 13.4k
  • 19
  • 88
  • 118

It's one of the first discussions I had over internet, back to 1997...

I damaged a floppy drive once, programing an assembly code to move the head out of the usual limits. The drive stopped working, and I could do that with 2 other drives.

But lots of people doubt it at that time and I never gave attention to the subject again.

There is some discussion wetherwhether rewriting a BIOS (like old virus did) is physical damage, but many people (including myself) take this out of the problems you mention.

It's one of the first discussions I had over internet, back to 1997...

I damaged a floppy drive once, programing an assembly code to move the head out of the usual limits. The drive stopped working, and I could do that with 2 other drives.

But lots of people doubt it at that time and I never gave attention to the subject again.

There is some discussion wether rewriting a BIOS (like old virus did) is physical damage, but many people (including myself) take this out of the problems you mention.

I damaged a floppy drive once, programing an assembly code to move the head out of the usual limits. The drive stopped working, and I could do that with 2 other drives.

But lots of people doubt it at that time and I never gave attention to the subject again.

There is some discussion whether rewriting a BIOS (like old virus did) is physical damage, but many people (including myself) take this out of the problems you mention.

Source Link
woliveirajr
  • 4.2k
  • 24
  • 32

It's one of the first discussions I had over internet, back to 1997...

I damaged a floppy drive once, programing an assembly code to move the head out of the usual limits. The drive stopped working, and I could do that with 2 other drives.

But lots of people doubt it at that time and I never gave attention to the subject again.

There is some discussion wether rewriting a BIOS (like old virus did) is physical damage, but many people (including myself) take this out of the problems you mention.