Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Sep 13, 2017 at 14:21 comment added ivanivan This was an issue in the mid/late 90s when configuring X on a linux machine with certain combinations of video cards and monitors and outputting a specific resolutions/color depths/frequency updates.
Aug 10, 2011 at 21:57 comment added Callum Rogers On the old gameboy and gameboy color, if you zeroed bit 7 of FF40 (LCD Enable) in any period except a vblank it would permanently break the gameboy's lcd screen.
Jul 22, 2011 at 23:17 comment added FumbleFingers Donkey's years ago I wrote low-level code controlling the (mono) monitor's electron gun. I was concerned that if I got it wrong the beam scan would be restricted to a tiny spot in the middle of the screen, which could overheat relative to the rest of the glass, and shatter. It never did, but I sweated a bit!
Jul 22, 2011 at 21:35 comment added sinni800 About the CRTs: I think it was possible with older ones. I already had some of mine set to levels where the screen was a pure mess. I always turned off the screen because I was afraid of breaking it. Newer ones just showed the "out of range" error.
Jul 22, 2011 at 17:32 history answered LawrenceC CC BY-SA 3.0