Skip to main content
added 437 characters in body
Source Link
paradd0x
  • 9.3k
  • 7
  • 38
  • 44

How do I use the rsync command from a local Windows 7 machine to a remote Linux server?

What software is needed on the Windows 7 machine to use rsync?

The remote Linux server is using Amazon's Linux AMI. The command rsync is already enabled on the machine and I can edit any needed access to the machine.

This is for the purposes of setting up a web server on the remote machine and the editing on my local machine and keeping the files in sync.

I do not want two-way access between the machines, I am only going to be editing files on my local machine and keeping them updated on the remote machine.

UPDATE:

I installed cygwin on my Windows 7 machine and installed the rsync package. Can someone provide the steps to set up the connection from the Windows 7 machine to the Linux server remotely?

Say I want to have a folder called C:\www on my Windows machine and keep it updating\var\www on my remote machine, how do I do that? It's not a backup per se, it updates the files that I edit with my local computer.

How do I use the rsync command from a local Windows 7 machine to a remote Linux server?

What software is needed on the Windows 7 machine to use rsync?

The remote Linux server is using Amazon's Linux AMI. The command rsync is already enabled on the machine and I can edit any needed access to the machine.

This is for the purposes of setting up a web server on the remote machine and the editing on my local machine and keeping the files in sync.

I do not want two-way access between the machines, I am only going to be editing files on my local machine and keeping them updated on the remote machine.

How do I use the rsync command from a local Windows 7 machine to a remote Linux server?

What software is needed on the Windows 7 machine to use rsync?

The remote Linux server is using Amazon's Linux AMI. The command rsync is already enabled on the machine and I can edit any needed access to the machine.

This is for the purposes of setting up a web server on the remote machine and the editing on my local machine and keeping the files in sync.

I do not want two-way access between the machines, I am only going to be editing files on my local machine and keeping them updated on the remote machine.

UPDATE:

I installed cygwin on my Windows 7 machine and installed the rsync package. Can someone provide the steps to set up the connection from the Windows 7 machine to the Linux server remotely?

Say I want to have a folder called C:\www on my Windows machine and keep it updating\var\www on my remote machine, how do I do that? It's not a backup per se, it updates the files that I edit with my local computer.

Source Link
paradd0x
  • 9.3k
  • 7
  • 38
  • 44

How to use rsync from Windows PC to remote Linux server?

How do I use the rsync command from a local Windows 7 machine to a remote Linux server?

What software is needed on the Windows 7 machine to use rsync?

The remote Linux server is using Amazon's Linux AMI. The command rsync is already enabled on the machine and I can edit any needed access to the machine.

This is for the purposes of setting up a web server on the remote machine and the editing on my local machine and keeping the files in sync.

I do not want two-way access between the machines, I am only going to be editing files on my local machine and keeping them updated on the remote machine.