Skip to main content
4 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 31, 2017 at 12:01 history edited David CC BY-SA 3.0
fixed grammatical issues and removed irrelevant last line.
Jun 11, 2011 at 19:28 comment added David I really don't think it is overheating issues if it isn't getting that hot as you said. 50 C is not that hot for a laptop. I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but it is probably a bad motherboard. To do a form of testing, try taking the hdd out and putting it into another computer that is similar and see if it shuts down like that. Also, try powering it up and down repeatedly (not force!), just regular safe shut downs, then power it back on. If it ever does the spontaneous power off while it is POSTing it is definitely the motherboard. This is the way I tested the motherboard at my work.
Jun 11, 2011 at 2:19 comment added KdgDev I do carry it around in a backpack. On my bike when I go to college. So, that could be it. What's more, when at home, to help with overheating a bit, I put an old transfo-block of a power adapter under the end of the laptop, tilting it, so that there's room between the surfaces and the heat can escape easier. I've just got a regular fan, that's it.
Jun 9, 2011 at 18:06 history answered David CC BY-SA 3.0