Skip to main content
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

Possible Duplicate:
Can a virus from a virtualbox vm affect the host computer?Can a virus from a virtualbox vm affect the host computer?

OK, first I need to say that I know that this has already been asked. However, I couldn't find this specific question anywhere, I googled a lot... so, I decided to come here :)

I am really bored these days when I'm on the computer, so I installed Windows XP in a VirtualBox VM (my host is Windows XP too). Now, my question is: if I deliberately infect the guest with viruses (or other kinds of bad programs) will the viruses be able to come out of it?

My concerns come from this: the internet on the VM first goes through my host with the network configuration I use. If I do this, then the viruses my VM downloads first go through my host... so, can anything happen? If yes, what network configuration could I use to prevent this?

Thanks in advance!

Possible Duplicate:
Can a virus from a virtualbox vm affect the host computer?

OK, first I need to say that I know that this has already been asked. However, I couldn't find this specific question anywhere, I googled a lot... so, I decided to come here :)

I am really bored these days when I'm on the computer, so I installed Windows XP in a VirtualBox VM (my host is Windows XP too). Now, my question is: if I deliberately infect the guest with viruses (or other kinds of bad programs) will the viruses be able to come out of it?

My concerns come from this: the internet on the VM first goes through my host with the network configuration I use. If I do this, then the viruses my VM downloads first go through my host... so, can anything happen? If yes, what network configuration could I use to prevent this?

Thanks in advance!

Possible Duplicate:
Can a virus from a virtualbox vm affect the host computer?

OK, first I need to say that I know that this has already been asked. However, I couldn't find this specific question anywhere, I googled a lot... so, I decided to come here :)

I am really bored these days when I'm on the computer, so I installed Windows XP in a VirtualBox VM (my host is Windows XP too). Now, my question is: if I deliberately infect the guest with viruses (or other kinds of bad programs) will the viruses be able to come out of it?

My concerns come from this: the internet on the VM first goes through my host with the network configuration I use. If I do this, then the viruses my VM downloads first go through my host... so, can anything happen? If yes, what network configuration could I use to prevent this?

Thanks in advance!

insert duplicate link
Source Link

Possible Duplicate:
Can a virus from a virtualbox vm affect the host computer?

OK, first I need to say that I know that this has already been asked. However, I couldn't find this specific question anywhere, I googled a lot... so, I decided to come here :)

I am really bored these days when I'm on the computer, so I installed Windows XP in a VirtualBox VM (my host is Windows XP too). Now, my question is: if I deliberately infect the guest with viruses (or other kinds of bad programs) will the viruses be able to come out of it?

My concerns come from this: the internet on the VM first goes through my host with the network configuration I use. If I do this, then the viruses my VM downloads first go through my host... so, can anything happen? If yes, what network configuration could I use to prevent this?

Thanks in advance!

OK, first I need to say that I know that this has already been asked. However, I couldn't find this specific question anywhere, I googled a lot... so, I decided to come here :)

I am really bored these days when I'm on the computer, so I installed Windows XP in a VirtualBox VM (my host is Windows XP too). Now, my question is: if I deliberately infect the guest with viruses (or other kinds of bad programs) will the viruses be able to come out of it?

My concerns come from this: the internet on the VM first goes through my host with the network configuration I use. If I do this, then the viruses my VM downloads first go through my host... so, can anything happen? If yes, what network configuration could I use to prevent this?

Thanks in advance!

Possible Duplicate:
Can a virus from a virtualbox vm affect the host computer?

OK, first I need to say that I know that this has already been asked. However, I couldn't find this specific question anywhere, I googled a lot... so, I decided to come here :)

I am really bored these days when I'm on the computer, so I installed Windows XP in a VirtualBox VM (my host is Windows XP too). Now, my question is: if I deliberately infect the guest with viruses (or other kinds of bad programs) will the viruses be able to come out of it?

My concerns come from this: the internet on the VM first goes through my host with the network configuration I use. If I do this, then the viruses my VM downloads first go through my host... so, can anything happen? If yes, what network configuration could I use to prevent this?

Thanks in advance!

Post Closed as "exact duplicate" by Sathyajith Bhat
Source Link

VirtualBox: Is trying harmful programs completely safe for the host?

OK, first I need to say that I know that this has already been asked. However, I couldn't find this specific question anywhere, I googled a lot... so, I decided to come here :)

I am really bored these days when I'm on the computer, so I installed Windows XP in a VirtualBox VM (my host is Windows XP too). Now, my question is: if I deliberately infect the guest with viruses (or other kinds of bad programs) will the viruses be able to come out of it?

My concerns come from this: the internet on the VM first goes through my host with the network configuration I use. If I do this, then the viruses my VM downloads first go through my host... so, can anything happen? If yes, what network configuration could I use to prevent this?

Thanks in advance!