Skip to main content
added 277 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link

After I cloned a VirtualBox VM image, either original nor cloned Debian 6 (squeeze) image have networking works anymore.

I've read A TON of articles online describing modifying the /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules and /etc/udev/rules.d/75-persistent-net-generator.rules files but none of those "fixes" worked for me.

(Apparently this is a "feature" of UDEV that causes all kinds of problems if you are using Debian/Ubuntu in a virtualized environment for development and want to clone images because it changes your MAC address of your virtual NIC).

Can someone please described exactly what I need to do in order to have networking working again in my VM debian images. Thanks

Note: networking stopped in BOTH (all) debian virtual images now. Essentially, [1]1 how do I fix my MAC address since I don't even know what MAC address should now be used, [2] how do I prevent this from happening in the future when I clone VM images?

UPDATE: My problem was filed as a bug with both VirtualBox and VMWare but both companies closed the tickets stating this is a "feature" of Debian. Some people suggests ways to fix the problem but none have worked.

After I cloned a VirtualBox VM image, either original nor cloned Debian 6 (squeeze) image have networking works anymore.

I've read A TON of articles online describing modifying the /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules and /etc/udev/rules.d/75-persistent-net-generator.rules files but none of those "fixes" worked for me.

(Apparently this is a "feature" of UDEV that causes all kinds of problems if you are using Debian/Ubuntu in a virtualized environment for development and want to clone images because it changes your MAC address of your virtual NIC).

Can someone please described exactly what I need to do in order to have networking working again in my VM debian images. Thanks

Note: networking stopped in BOTH (all) debian virtual images now. Essentially, [1] how do I fix my MAC address since I don't even know what MAC address should now be used, [2] how do I prevent this from happening in the future when I clone VM images?

After I cloned a VirtualBox VM image, either original nor cloned Debian 6 (squeeze) image have networking works anymore.

I've read A TON of articles online describing modifying the /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules and /etc/udev/rules.d/75-persistent-net-generator.rules files but none of those "fixes" worked for me.

(Apparently this is a "feature" of UDEV that causes all kinds of problems if you are using Debian/Ubuntu in a virtualized environment for development and want to clone images because it changes your MAC address of your virtual NIC).

Can someone please described exactly what I need to do in order to have networking working again in my VM debian images. Thanks

Note: networking stopped in BOTH (all) debian virtual images now. Essentially, 1 how do I fix my MAC address since I don't even know what MAC address should now be used, [2] how do I prevent this from happening in the future when I clone VM images?

UPDATE: My problem was filed as a bug with both VirtualBox and VMWare but both companies closed the tickets stating this is a "feature" of Debian. Some people suggests ways to fix the problem but none have worked.

added 2 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link

After I cloned a VirtualBox VM image, either original nor cloned Debian 6 (squeeze) image have networking works anymore.

I've read A TON of articles online describing modifying the /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules and /etc/udev/rules.d/75-persistent-net-generator.rules files but none of those "fixes" worked for me.

(Apparently this is a "feature" of UDEV that causes all kinds of problems if you are using Debian/Ubuntu in a virtualized environment for development and want to clone images because it changes your MAC address of your virtual NIC).

Can someone please described exactly what I need to do in order to have networking working again in my VM debian images. Thanks

Note: networking stopped in BOTH (all) debian virtual images now. Essentially, [1] how do I fix my MAC address since I don't even know what MAC address should now be used, [2] how do I prevent this from happening in the future when I clone VM images?Note: networking stopped in BOTH (all) debian virtual images now. Essentially, [1] how do I fix my MAC address since I don't even know what MAC address should now be used, [2] how do I prevent this from happening in the future when I clone VM images?

After I cloned a VirtualBox VM image, either original nor cloned Debian 6 (squeeze) image have networking works anymore.

I've read A TON of articles online describing modifying the /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules and /etc/udev/rules.d/75-persistent-net-generator.rules files but none of those "fixes" worked for me.

(Apparently this is a "feature" of UDEV that causes all kinds of problems if you are using Debian/Ubuntu in a virtualized environment for development and want to clone images because it changes your MAC address of your virtual NIC).

Can someone please described exactly what I need to do in order to have networking working again in my VM debian images. Thanks

Note: networking stopped in BOTH (all) debian virtual images now. Essentially, [1] how do I fix my MAC address since I don't even know what MAC address should now be used, [2] how do I prevent this from happening in the future when I clone VM images?

After I cloned a VirtualBox VM image, either original nor cloned Debian 6 (squeeze) image have networking works anymore.

I've read A TON of articles online describing modifying the /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules and /etc/udev/rules.d/75-persistent-net-generator.rules files but none of those "fixes" worked for me.

(Apparently this is a "feature" of UDEV that causes all kinds of problems if you are using Debian/Ubuntu in a virtualized environment for development and want to clone images because it changes your MAC address of your virtual NIC).

Can someone please described exactly what I need to do in order to have networking working again in my VM debian images. Thanks

Note: networking stopped in BOTH (all) debian virtual images now. Essentially, [1] how do I fix my MAC address since I don't even know what MAC address should now be used, [2] how do I prevent this from happening in the future when I clone VM images?

added 258 characters in body
Source Link

After I cloned a VirtualBox VM image, either original nor cloned Debian 6 (squeeze) image have networking works anymore.

I've read A TON of articles online describing modifying the /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules and /etc/udev/rules.d/75-persistent-net-generator.rules files but none of those "fixes" worked for me.

(Apparently this is a "feature" of UDEV that causes all kinds of problems if you are using Debian/Ubuntu in a virtualized environment for development and want to clone images because it changes your MAC address of your virtual NIC).

Can someone please described exactly what I need to do in order to have networking working again in my VM debian images. Thanks

Note: networking stopped in BOTH (all) debian virtual images now. Essentially, [1] how do I fix my MAC address since I don't even know what MAC address should now be used, [2] how do I prevent this from happening in the future when I clone VM images?

After I cloned a VirtualBox VM image, either original nor cloned Debian 6 (squeeze) image have networking works anymore.

I've read A TON of articles online describing modifying the /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules and /etc/udev/rules.d/75-persistent-net-generator.rules files but none of those "fixes" worked for me.

(Apparently this is a "feature" of UDEV that causes all kinds of problems if you are using Debian/Ubuntu in a virtualized environment for development and want to clone images because it changes your MAC address of your virtual NIC).

Can someone please described exactly what I need to do in order to have networking working again in my VM debian images. Thanks

After I cloned a VirtualBox VM image, either original nor cloned Debian 6 (squeeze) image have networking works anymore.

I've read A TON of articles online describing modifying the /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules and /etc/udev/rules.d/75-persistent-net-generator.rules files but none of those "fixes" worked for me.

(Apparently this is a "feature" of UDEV that causes all kinds of problems if you are using Debian/Ubuntu in a virtualized environment for development and want to clone images because it changes your MAC address of your virtual NIC).

Can someone please described exactly what I need to do in order to have networking working again in my VM debian images. Thanks

Note: networking stopped in BOTH (all) debian virtual images now. Essentially, [1] how do I fix my MAC address since I don't even know what MAC address should now be used, [2] how do I prevent this from happening in the future when I clone VM images?

Source Link
Loading